June 21, 1999 - by
Seminoles Hold Final Spring Football Scrimmage

April 10, 1999

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State football team finished its spring drills with two quarters of a regular game situation in front of 10,000 fans at Doak Campbell Stadium.

The Gold squad defeated the Garnet team, 3-0, in a defensive struggle. The two defenses combined for 11 sacks and four interceptions in the game. Sebastian Janikowski’s 41-yard field goal with 8:22 left in the second quarter was the only score of the game.

Quarterback Marcus Outzen completed five of 13 passes for 69 yards and was intercepted twice by safety Chris Hope and linebacker Bradley Jennings. Hope returned his interception 27 yards, while Jennings brought his back three yards.

Second-team quarterback Jared Jones connected on two of 13 passes and was also intercepted twice. Clevan Thomas picked off a Jones pass and returned it 30 yards and Abdual Howard was the second defender to catch a Jones’ pass.

On the ground, tailback Jeff Chaney led the way with 38 yards on seven carries. William McCray tallied 15 yards on seven attempts. No other Seminole had double-digit rushing yards.

Tight end Carver Donaldson was the game’s leading receiving with one reception for 44 yards from Outzen.

Defensive ends Roland Seymour, Jamal Reynolds and Chris Walker each recorded two sacks on the day. Jennings led all defenders with five total tackles and cornerback Tay Cody broke up two passes.

Between quarters, head coach Bobby Bowden awarded the Most Valuable Players of spring practice. Travis Minor earned the offensive award, while Jamal Reynolds garnered the defensive trophy. Reynolds also was given the Hinesman Award for the most outstanding player in spring practice.

Also, between the action, Janikowski attempted and made 65 and 62-yard field goals.


         1   2    F
GOLD     0   3    3
GARNET   0   0    0

2ND QUARTER 8:22 Sebastian Janikowski 41-yard Field Goal


Passing         Comp-Att-Int  Yds
Marcus Outzen   5-13-2        69 
Jared Jones     2-13-2        12
Rich Maher      1-2-0         31

Rushing Att-Yards Jeff Chaney 7-38 William McCray 7-15 Peter Warrick 1-7 Robert Morgan 1-9 Jason Moore 7-1 Atrews Bell 1-(-5) Rich Maher 1-(-5) Jared Jones 1-(-19) Marcus Outzen 9-(-33)

Receiving Rec-Yards Carver Donaldson 1-44 Travis Smith 1-31 Peter Warrick 1-11 Germaine Stringer 1-9 Jeff Chaney 1-8 William McCray 1-5 Robert Morgan 1-3 Jason Moore 1-1

**Between quarters, Sebastian Janikowski attempted and made 65- and 62-yard field goals.



Roland Seymour      2
Jamal Reynolds      2
Chris Walker        2
Bryne Malone        1 1/2
Jerel Hudson        1
Kevin Emanuel       1
Octavius Jackson    1
David Warren        1/2

Tackles for Loss

Octavius Jackson    1 1/2 (-3, -5)
Anthony Smith       1/2 (-5)
Tony Benford        1 (-6)

Leading Tacklers

Bradley Jennings    5
Derrick Gibson      4
Tommy Polley        4
Clevan Thomas       3
Sean Key            3
Brian Allen         3
Bobby Rhodes        3

Pass Deflections

Tay Cody            2
Reggie Durden       1
Tommy Polley        1
Stanford Samuels    1


Chris Hope          1-27 yards
Bradley Jennings    1-3 yards
Clevan Thomas       1-30 yards
Abdual Howard       1

Related Articles