February 18, 2000 - by
Seminoles In Second At ACC Women’s Indoors After Friday’s Competition

Feb. 18, 2000

BLACKSBURG, Va. – After the first day of competition at the 2000
ACC Indoor Track and Field Meet in Blacksburg, VA, the North Carolina
women’s team is in first place with 69 points. Florida State is in
second place with 46 points, while NC State currently is in third with
22 points. The top three athletes in each individual event earn All-ACC
honors, while the winning team in each relay event earns All-ACC

Tar Heel junior Joy Ganes won her third-straight ACC
Championship in the high jump after posting an NCAA provisional
qualifying mark of 6’0″. NC State freshman Kristen Pace placed second
after clearing the same height on a later jump, and Maryland freshman
Vanessa Jones was third with a jump of 5’10”.

Senior Janelle Krause of Wake Forest claimed her
second-consecutive ACC title in the 5,000m, winning the event with a
provisional qualifying time of 16:35.08. North Carolina junior Trish
Nervo was second with a provisional time of 16:43.37, and NC State
senior Meredith Faircloth was third with a time of 17:00.39.

The Duke distance medley relay team of Maddy Woodmansee, Courtney Botts,
Heather Ryan and Sheela Agrawal set an ACC record with a provisional
time of 11:33.72, breaking the old record of 11:40.26 set in 1999 by
Wake Forest by almost seven seconds. Wake Forest’s Alison Anibaldi,
Summer Shaw, Val Waldron and Jill Snyder placed second with a
provisional time of 11:34.24.

Clemson freshman Joana Costa won the pole vault with a mark of 11’11
3/4″, earning All-ACC honors in her rookie season. Her mark broke the
conference record of 11’6 1/4″, established by former Tiger Erin Nett
last season. Florida State junior Lindsay Adkins-Osbo was second with a
mark of 11’10”, and Duke junior Jillian Schwarz placed third after
clearing the same height on a later jump.

North Carolina junior Ola Sesay set the ACC record in the long jump,
winning the event with an NCAA automatic qualifying mark of 21’2 3/4″.
Tar Heel senior DeAnne Davis placed second with an automatic qualifying
mark of 20’9 3/4″, and Virginia freshman Kimesha Otey was third with a
jump of 19’8 1/4″.

In the shot put competition, sophomore Makiba Batten of Florida
State won the ACC Championship with a throw of 48’4 1/2″. North
Carolina freshman Ibiene Bilaye-Benibo was second with a mark of 48’1
1/4″, and Seminole senior Lakeisa Mose was third with a mark of 47’8″.

Senior Tonya Carter of Florida State qualified with the fastest time in the 60m, an NCAA Automatic qualifying time of 7.29, and posted
the fastest qualifying time in the 200m, 24.22. North Carolina junior
Lutisha Shittu was the top qualifier with a time of 8.46 in the 60m

Seminole senior Samantha George had the top time in the trials of the
400m dash, an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 54.20, and recorded
the top qualifying time in the 800m (2:09.46). NC State sophomore Katie
Sabino was the top qualifier in the mile with a time of 4:56.98.

Saturday’s events begin at 11 a.m. with the women’s triple jump.
Running events begin at 1:10 p.m. with the mile run, and the final
event, the 4x400m, is set to begin at 4:30 p.m.

2000 ACC Champions

Pole Vault Joana Costa (CLEMSON), 11’11 3/4″
Shot Put Makiba Batten (FSU), 48’4 1/2″
High Jump Joy Ganes (UNC), 6’0″
Long Jump Ola Sesay (UNC), 21’2 3/4″
5,000m Janelle Kraus (WF), 16:35.08
DMR Duke, 11:33.72

ACC Standings After Six Events

1 North Carolina 69
2 Florida State 46
3 NC State 22
4 Maryland 20
5 Virginia 19
6 Wake Forest 18
7 Duke 16
8 Georgia Tech 14
9 Clemson 10

Related Articles