June 21, 1999 - by
Seminoles Travel to Atlanta to Tangle with Georgia Tech

January 7, 1999


  • Saturday, Jan. 9, 1999 at 12:00 pm
  • Alexander Memorial Coliseum (10,000), Atlanta, GA

    FLORIDA STATE

    The Seminoles are coming off a 72-54 loss to 11th-ranked North Carolina on Wednesday at home. The Seminoles led by three points (40-37) with 13 minutes to play but the Tar Heels closed the game with a 35-14 run. Junior forward Ron Hale led FSU with 17 points…Florida State has been outrebounded in its last four games by an average margin of 14.0 per game and by 23.5 in its last two. UNC beat FSU 46-21 on the glass on Wednesday and Murray State did it 50-28 two weeks ago in the Rainbow Classic…After turning the ball over at least 17 times in eight of their first nine games, the Seminoles have committed just 38 miscues in their last four (9.5 per game)…Sophomore point guard Delvon Arrington is averaging 6.6 assists in his last eight games and has a two-to-one assist-to-turnover ratio in that span…FSU hit just 7-of-31 from three-point range against UNC and is just 14-of-54 from long range in its last three contests (25.9 percent).

    GEORGIA TECH

    The Yellow Jackets are coming off a 99-58 defeat at No. 2 Duke on Wednesday night. Jason Collier led Georgia Tech with 23 points in the loss…The 41-point margin of defeat was the Jackets’ second of the season. They lost to Kentucky 80-39 on Dec. 19…Collier, a 7-0 junior transfer from Indiana, leads Georgia Tech in scoring at 17.2 points per game. Alvin Jones, a 6-11 sophomore, leads the ACC in rebounding at 10.6 per game and is second nationally in blocked shots at 4.8 per contest…Despite its size upfront, the Yellow Jackets are being outrebounded by an average of 1.3 per game (39.7-38.4).

    THE GAME

    Saturday’s game marks the 39th meeting between Florida State and Georgia Tech. The Seminoles own a 22-16 advantage in the series, which dates back to Jan. 19, 1963…The two teams split last year’s meetings with each team winning on the road…FSU won the first game 70-67 on Jan. 18 while Tech returned the favor with a 72-59 win on Feb. 18…The Yellow Jackets have won six of the last eight games in the series. Their current streak followed a stretch where FSU won six straight and 10 of 11.

    THE LINEUPS

    FLORIDA STATE                                      GEORGIA TECH
    No. Name              (Ht, Wt, Class)   PPG  RPG   Pos. No. Name          (Ht, Wt, Class)   PPG  RPG
    10 Delvon Arrington   (5-11, 180, So.)  7.8  2.8    G    3  Tony Akins    (6-0, 175, Fr.)  13.3  3.9 
    24 Terrell Baker      (6-5, 200, Sr.)  14.3  4.2    G   34  Jason Floyd   (6-6, 210, Jr.)  15.3  5.3
    21 Ron Hale           (6-8, 210, Jr.)  14.8  6.2    F   23  Jon Babul     (6-7, 226, So.)   6.0  7.5
    51 Oliver Simmons     (6-8, 225, Jr.)   7.5  5.1    F   52  Jason Collier (7-0, 250, Jr.)  17.2  6.1
    42 Justin Mott        (6-10, 235, Jr.)  1.3  2.6    C    4  Alvin Jones   (6-11, 265, So.) 11.7 10.6
    Steve Robinson        (Radford, '81)                        Head Coach Bobby Cremins (South Carolina, '70)
    (71-38 in 4 years, 25-20 in 2nd year at FSU)                (436-279 in 23 years, 335-209 in 18th year at GT)
     

    SEMINOLE SCHEDULE

    Fri.   Nov. 13  Sam Houston State      W, 88-51
    Fri.   Nov. 20  Florida (FSS/SUN)      L, 66-82
    Tues.  Nov. 24  Idaho (SUN)            W, 70-57
    Tues.  Dec.  1  at Virginia (RSN)      W, 72-69
    Sun.   Dec.  6  Auburn (FSS/SUN)       L, 68-80
    Mon.   Dec. 14  at Temple (ESPN2)      L, 66-75 
    Thurs. Dec. 17  at Jacksonville (SUN)  W, 72-53
    Sun.   Dec. 20  Georgia Southern (SUN) W, 80-43
    Wed.   Dec. 23  at Butler              L, 65-77
    Mon.   Dec. 28  vs. Princeton (ESPN)   L, 46-50
    Tues.  Dec. 29  vs. Mississippi State  W, 69-58
    Wed.   Dec. 30  vs. Murray State       W, 80-76 (OT)
    Wed.   Jan.  6  North Carolina (ESPN)  L, 54-72
    Sat.   Jan.  9  at Georgia Tech (RSN)  12:00 pm
    Tues.  Jan. 12  Clemson (RSN)           9:00 pm
    Sat.   Jan. 16  at Duke (ABC)           1:00 pm
    Wed.   Jan. 20  Wake Forest (ESPN2)     8:00 pm
    Sat.   Jan. 23  NC State (RJP)          4:00 pm
    Wed.   Jan. 27  at Maryland (ESPN2)     8:00 pm
    Sat.   Jan. 30  Virginia (RSN)         12:00 pm
    Tues.  Feb.  2  South Florida (SUN)     7:00 pm
    Sun.   Feb.  7  at North Carolina (ABC) 3:30 pm
    Thurs. Feb. 11  Georgia Tech (RJP)      8:00 pm
    Sun.   Feb. 14  at Clemson (RJP)        4:00 pm
    Wed.   Feb. 17  Duke (ESPN)             7:00 pm
    Sat.   Feb. 20  at Wake Forest (ESPN2)  5:00 pm 
    Wed.   Feb. 24  at NC State (ESPN2)     7:00 pm
    Sat.   Feb. 27  Maryland (RJP)          1:30 pm
    Th-Su  Mar. 4-7 at ACC Tournament  (Charlotte, NC)
    

    SEMINOLES

    Record  7-6
    ACC     1-1
    

    YELLOW JACKETS

    Record   10-5
    ACC       1-2
    

    The Series

    FSU Leads 16-12

    Last Meeting

    GT 72, FSU 59

    Feb. 18, 1998


    On The Air

    Television

    Regional Sports Networks

    Bob Rathbun

    (Play-by-Play)

    Brad Daugherty

    (Color)

    Radio

    Host/SSN

    Gene Deckerhoff

    (Play-by-Play)

    Jackie Pons

    (Color)

  • Related Articles