May 8, 2013 - by
Seminoles Travel To Minnesota In ACC/Big Ten Challenge

May 8, 2013

Florida State, the third winningest program in the ACC in the last eight seasons, will travel to play at Minnesota on December 3, 2013 at Williams Arena in the 15th Annual ACC/Big Ten Challenge presented by Dick’s Sporting Goods.  It will mark the fifth meeting between the Seminoles and the Gophers in the history of the challenge with the two teams having split the first four games. 

The game between Florida State and Minnesota will be played in Minneapolis for only the second time in the series during the challenge.  The Seminoles won at Minnesota, 70-69, in the Seminoles’ only road game of the challenge against the Gophers on Nov. 30, 2004. 

Florida State’s meeting against Minnesota and North Carolina’s meeting against Michigan State in the 2013 ACC/Big Ten Challenge, will tie the record for the most meetings between two teams in the history of the challenge.  Both series are tied at 2-2. 

Each of the 12 games in the two day event will be televised on ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU.  The game times and channels will be decided at a later date. 

2013 ACC/Big Ten Schedule

Tuesday December 3, 2013             December 4, 2013

Florida State at Minnesota              North Carolina at Michigan State   

Indiana at Syracuse                            Maryland at Ohio State

Michigan at Duke                                Miami at Nebraska

Notre Dame at Iowa                           Wisconsin at Virginia

Penn State at Pittsburgh                     Boston College at Purdue

Illinois at Georgia Tech                      Northwestern at NC State


The Seminoles return three starters to their 2013-14 team including senior All-American candidate Okaro White (12.4 ppg and a team-leading 5.9 rpg), point guard Devon Bookert (6.5 ppg and 2.4 apg) and guard Aaron Thomas (6.0 ppg and 2.4 rpg) to their starting line-up.  Florida State finished the 2012-13 season with an 18-16 record and played in the NIT marking its school record eighth consecutive postseason tournament appearance. Senior Ian Miller, who averaged 5.3 points per game as a junior, will also return healthy after being hampered by a foot injury during his junior season. 

The ACC and Big Ten split last year’s Challenge with six wins each. In the event of a tie, the Commissioner’s Cup remains with the conference that won the previous year, which was the Big Ten in 2011.  The ACC holds a 10-3-1 Challenge record, winning the first 10 events (1999-2008) while the Big Ten won the next three (2009-2011).  All 12 Big Ten teams and 12 of the 15 ACC teams will participate in the 2013 Challenge, including the three newest ACC members Notre Dame, Pittsburgh and Syracuse. Clemson, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest will not play in the 2013 event.

Florida State, which won the 2012 ACC Championship, is the third winningest program in the ACC behind only Duke and North Carolina (the third and fourth all-time wimngest programs in college basketball history) since the start of the 2005-06 season.  With the addition of  Syracuse (the fifth all-time winningest program), Notre Dame (the ninth all-time winningest program) and Pittsburgh for the 2013-14 season and defending national champion Louisville (the 12th all-time winningest program) for the 2014-15 season, the Seminoles will now play three of the top five and four of the top 10 winningest programs in college basketball on an annual basis.

The Gophers return three starters in 2013-14 from a team that finished the season with 21 wins, including a victory over UCLA in the second round of the NCAA Tournament. The returnees combined to average 34.0 points per game which was half of the team’s average a season ago. Junior guard Andre Hollins led Minnesota with a career-high average of 14.6 ppg while Austin Hollins chipped in with 10.7 ppg, second on last year’s team. The Golden Gopher program will be guided by new head coach Richard Pitino

The Seminoles will play nine ACC games at home in the Donald L. Tucker Center against North Carolina, Syracuse, Notre Dame, Clemson, Georgia Tech, Maryland, Miami, Virginia and Virginia Tech. The Seminoles will travel to play at Duke, Pittsburgh, Boston College, Clemson, Maryland, Miami, NC State, Virginia and Wake Forest.

Season Tickets are on sale now for this exciting 2013-14 season. The Tucker Center will be the place to be this year as fans will be able to see the new look ACC. Fans can visit or call the ticket office at 888-FSU-NOLE to order tickets.



Dec. 1, 1999                  Nov. 29, 2000               Nov. 28, 2001               Dec. 2, 2002

Florida State 60            at Florida State 71       Florida State 50            at Florida State 80

at Northwestern 46      Minnesota 76                at Northwestern 57      Iowa 67

Dec. 1, 2003                  Nov. 30, 2004               Nov. 29, 2005               Nov. 28, 2006

at Florida State 71       Florida State 70            at Florida State 97       Florida State 66

Northwestern 53           at Minnesota 69           Purdue 57                      at Wisconsin 81

Nov. 27, 2007               Dec. 3, 2008                  Dec. 2, 2009                  Nov. 30, 2010

at Florida State 75       Florida State 59            Florida State 64            at Florida State 44

Minnesota 61                at Northwestern 73      at Ohio State 77           Ohio State 58


Nov. 30, 2011               Nov. 27, 2012               Dec. 3, 2013

Florida State 49            at Florida State 68       Florida State

at Michigan State 65   Minnesota 77                at Minnesota

Related Articles