May 4, 2009 - by
Seminoles’ Westrup Named To All-ACC Women’s Golf Team

May 4, 2009

Florida State University senior All-American Caroline Westrup, who will lead the Seminole women’s golf team into the NCAA East Regional Championship beginning Thursday, has been named to the 2009 All-Atlantic Coast Conference women’s golf team for the fourth consecutive season in a vote by the leagues nine head coaches. It marks the school record fourth time Westrup has earned the honor and makes her the first Seminole golfer in school history to earn All-ACC honors during each of her playing seasons at Florida State.

Westrup is the Seminoles leader and is ranked eighth in the ACC with a 74.16 stroke average this year despite missing the better half of the spring season with an illness. She leads the team in stroke average, rounds at par or better (six) and scores at 75 or better (13). Westrup’s score of 66 in the third round of the fall 2008 Cougar Classic is tied for the lowest score of any golfer in the ACC this season.

Westrup is only the second non-Duke player and first since Stephanie Neill (1992-95) of Wake Forest to earn All-ACC honors four times in her career. A total of nine Duke players have earned All-ACC honors four times during their careers. Florida State is ranked fourth in ACC history with 15 All-ACC selections despite having joined the league in 1992 – seven years after the ACC began choosing an All-ACC team for women’s golf.

“It was a goal of my to be named to the All-ACC four times when I first arrived at Florida State,” said Westrup. “It’s exciting and I’m happy for our program. The thing we have to do now is focus on playing well at regionals this week so we can qualify as a team for nationals – that has been my main goal every year I have been at Florida State.”

In earning All-ACC honors for the fourth time she surpasses herself and Kristin Tamulis (2001-03) as the only players in Florida State history to have earned All-ACC honors three times during their careers.

ACC champion Wake Forest placed two players on the All-ACC team. Natalie Sheary of Wake Forest was awarded ACC Co-Player of the Year honors (along with Duke’s Amanda Blumenherst) while Demon Deacon head coach Dianne Dailey was named the ACC Coach of the Year.

Wake Forest claimed its fourth team title and third under Dailey at the ACC Championship tournament at the Sedgefield Country Club in April. The title was the first for Wake Forest since winning back-to-back titles in 1994 and 1995.

2009 All-ACC Women's Golf Team
Name                      School
Caroline Westrup          Florida State
Amanda Blumenherst        Duke
Jennie Lee                Duke
Jessica Hollandsworth     Maryland
Catherine O'Donnell       North Carolina
Allie White               North Carolina
Lauren Doughtie           NC State
Calle Nielson             Virginia
Jennie Arseneault         Virginia
Whitney Neuhauser         Virginia
Nannette Hill             Wake Forest
Natalie Sheary            Wake Forest

ACC Co-Players of the Year
Natalie Sheary            Wake Forest
Amanda Blumenherst        Duke

ACC Freshman of the Year
Catherine O'Donnell       North Carolina

ACC Coach of the Year
Dianne Dailey, Wake Forest

Related Articles