April 11, 2012 - by
Senior Class Honored At Men’s Basketball Banquet

April 11, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
Florida State’s senior class, which won more games than any other class in school history and led the Seminoles to the first ever ACC Tournament championship in school history in 2012, was celebrated along with their teammates at the Men’s Basketball Honors Banquet at the University Center Club. During the course of the last four seasons, the Seminoles played in a school record four consecutive NCAA Tournaments, advanced to the Sweet 16 of the 2011 NCAA Tournament, played in the first two ACC Tournament championship games in school history, won 95 games, defeated 16 nationally ranked teams (including the nation’s No. 1 ranked team twice) and finished the 2012 season ranked No. 10 nationally in the final Associated Press poll of the season.

“Our senior class changed the culture of the Florida State basketball program,” said head coach Leonard Hamilton. “They have represented our university and our program extremely well and they will all be missed. All six of the players were ready to learn and work hard every single day they were on campus – from day one until the end of their collegiate careers. I am confident that they all leave here having matured and developed into outstanding men.”

Bernard James, who was named to the ACC All-Defensive Team and who earned All-ACC Honorable Mention honors as a senior, was presented with five awards including the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards and Most Improved Player Awards. James finished the season as the Seminoles’ leader in rebounds, blocked shots and field goal percentage. Junior Michael Snaer, who was named the Most Valuable Player in the 2012 ACC Tournament also earned five awards including the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player and the award for the Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage.

James and Snaer shared the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award – both players were named to the ACC All-Defensive Team. James ranked sixth in rebounding and third in blocked shots while Snaer is considered to be the premier perimeter defender in the ACC. James and Snaer combined to help the Seminoles rank as the ACC’s top defensive team and one of the top defensive teams in the nation. The Seminoles led the ACC (and ranked fifth nationally) in field goal percentage defense and became only the fourth team in ACC history to lead the ACC in blocked shots and steals in the same season.

Senior Luke Loucks, who set the school record for games played with 136, was honored three times during the event. He took home the awards as the Seminoles’ Outstanding Student Athlete, the Otto Petty Most Assists Award and was one of six players to earn the Tip of the Spear Award.

The Tip of the Spear Award has been presented annually by Hamilton and his staff to the player or players who exemplify the qualities of great teammates and who were outstanding student athletes during their careers. Of the six senior members of the Seminole men’s basketball team, two (Loucks and Jeff Peterson) have already earned their bachelor’s degrees while the remaining four (Deividas Dulkys, Xavier Gibson, James and Jon Kreft) are scheduled to earn their degrees in university wide commencement exercises later this month.

Senior Deividas Dulkys, who provided one of the greatest offensive performances in school history with a career high 32 points in the Seminoles’ 90-57 win over then No. 3 North Carolina on Jan, 14, 2012, earned the Mr. Hustle Award and shared with his senior teammates in the Tip of the Spear Award. It marked the second consecutive season Dulkys has earned the Mr. Hustle Award.

Jeff Peterson, who was one of five Seminoles to earn multiple awards, was presented with the Unsung Hero Award and also shared in the presentation of the Tip of the Spear Award. He was an integral part of Florida State’s ACC Tournament Championship as he helped the Seminoles finish in third place in the ACC standings with a school record tying 12 wins in conference play during the regular season. The Seminoles won a school record 15 games in ACC play during the record setting season.

First Year Academic Achievement Award               Kiel Turpin
Most Improved Student Athlete Award                 Ian Miller
Outstanding Student Athlete Award                   Luke Loucks
Best Field Goal Percentage                          Bernard James
Mr. Hustle Award                                    Deividas Dulkys / Michael Snaer
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage Award            Michael Snaer
Best Free Throw Percentage Award                    Michael Snaer
Otto Petty Most Assists Award                       Luke Loucks
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award            Bernard James
Charles Ward Outstanding Defensive Player           Michael Snaer / Bernard James
Bob Sura Most Outstanding Offensive Player          Michael Snaer
Most Improved Player                                Bernard James
Unsung Hero Award                                   Jeff Peterson
Sixth Man Award                                     Okaro White
Tip of the Spear                                    Deividas Dulkys, Xavier Gibson,  Bernard James, Jon Kreft,
                                                    Luke Loucks, Jeff Peterson

Related Articles