April 10, 2016 - by
Seniors Honored At Basketball Banquet

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Senior Devon Bookert won a team-high five awards and all five members of the Seminoles’ graduating class were honored as head coach Leonard Hamilton and the Florida State basketball team celebrated its 2015-16 season at its annual banquet in the Grand Ballroom at the University Center Club.

Bookert earned the Sixth Man, best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage, Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player award, the Tip of the Spear Award and was presented with a special commemorative basketball for surpassing the 1,000-point mark during his senior season.

Florida State’s senior class led the Seminoles to their eighth 20-win season and 10th postseason appearance in the last 14 seasons.

Bookert was honored along with his senior teammates – Boris Bojanovsky, Montay Brandon, Michael Ojo and Michael Saxton – for their accomplishments during the 2015-16 season and their four-year careers.  The senior class, who will all earn their degrees from Florida State, helped lead the Seminoles to an appearances in the 2014 and 2016 NIT (including a semifinal appearance the in the 2014 NIT at Madison Square Garden), five victories over ranked teams, two victories over Florida and multiple weeks spent in the national rankings during their careers.

In earning a team-high five awards, Bookert was presented with the Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage Award for the third time in his career.  He closed his career with a .419 career 3-point shooting percentage – the fifth best mark from distance in school history.  Bookert ranks in the top 10 in school history for career 3-point field goals made (188) and 3-point field goals attempted (449).  He was also presented with the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award as he finished third in the ACC with a career-high 1.7 steals per game average.

The Seminoles’ team captain also earned the Tip of the Spear Award from the Florida State coaching staff.  The Tip of the Spear Award is presented annually to the member of the men’s basketball team who exemplifies the unconquered spirit and who gives unselfishly of himself throughout the season.

Bojanovsky was presented with an award as one of the top shot blockers in school history and Brandon was presented with an award for starting the most games in school history.

Bojanovsky completed his career ranked third in school history with 195 blocked shots and Brandon started a school record 122 games as a four-year starter for the Seminoles.

Seniors Honored At Basketball Banquet

Freshman Dwayne Bacon, who earned Freshman All-America and All-ACC Freshman team honors, earned four trophies including the coveted Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards  and Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive awards.  He averaged a team-leading 15.8 points and a team leading 5.8 rebounds in becoming the first freshman in school history to lead the Seminoles in scoring and rebounding.  Bacon also earned a pair of academic awards: the First Year Academic Award and the Outstanding Student Athlete Award.  Bacon set the school record as he earned ACC Rookie of the Week honors a school record five times and was named to the All-ACC Academic Team in his first season as a Seminole.

Junior Brandon Allen and sophomore Phil Cofer were also honored for the outstanding work in the classroom.  Allen won the Academic Achievement Award to mark the third consecutive season he has earned an academic award after earning the Seminoles’ Outstanding Student Award in both 2014 and 2015.  Cofer earned the award as the Seminoles’ most improved student-athlete.

Freshman Terance Mann was one of three Seminoles who earned multiple awards.  He was presented with the Mr. Hustle and Best Field Goal Percentage Awards.  Mann appeared in all 34 games for the Seminoles and shot a team-leading .584 from the field.  Junior Jarquez Smith won the Unsung Hero Award, sophomore Xavier Rathan-Mayes was presented with the Otto Petty Most Assists Award and freshman Malik Beasley was presented with the award as the Seminoles’ top free throw shooter.

With a second consecutive top-five ranked recruiting class already signed for the upcoming season, the Seminoles have earned pre-season mention for the 2016-17 season.  The Seminoles have been ranked 20th nationally in the preseason by NBC Sports and 21st nationally by the Sporting News.  The Seminoles’ schedule for next season includes four games in the Pre-Season NIT with two games coming at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y in November.

Award, Winner
First Year Academic Achievement Award: Dwayne Bacon
Academic Achievement Award: Brandon Allen
Outstanding Student Athlete: Dwayne Bacon
Most Improved Student Athlete: Phil Cofer
Mr. Hustle: Terance Mann
Sixth Man Award: Devon Bookert
Best Field Goal Percentage: Terance Mann
Best Free Throws Percentage: Malik Beasley
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage: Devon Bookert
Otto Petty Most Assists: Xavier Rathan-Mayes
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards: Dwayne Bacon
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award: Devon Bookert
Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award: Dwayne Bacon
Unsung Hero: Jarquez Smith
Tip of the Spear: Devon Bookert
Career Blocked Shots Award: Boris Bojanovsky
Career 1,000 Point Scorer: Devon Bookert
Career Games Started Leader: Montay Brandon

Related Articles