April 26, 2005 - by
Shane Robinson Named To Golden Spikes Award Watch List

April 26, 2005

Durham, NCShane Robinson was named to USA Baseball’s Golden Spikes Award Watch List Tuesday. He is one of seven ACC baseball players to be included on the initial watch list. The award is given to the best amateur baseball player in America. This is the third national player of the year watch list Robinson has been named to and three former Seminoles have won the award (Mike Fuentes, Mike Lloynd and J.D. Drew). No school has produced more Golden Spikes Award winners than Florida State.

USA Baseball – in partnership with the Major League Baseball Players Association – will hand out the 2005 Golden Spikes Award – “Amateur Baseball’s Most Prestigous Honor” – in July. Recognized as one of the most revered awards in amateur sport, the presentation of the Golden Spikes Award also underscores the commitment of USA Baseball and Major League baseball players to support the development of baseball from the grassroots level.

The five finalists for the 2005 Golden Spikes Award will be announced by USA Baseball in early June. Meanwhile, here are forty players from across the nation that we’ve identified as potential recipients. Please keep in mind – these players are not semifinalists for the ’05 GSA award, and can be taken off the “watch list” at any time – based on performance.

The 2005 Golden Spikes Award winner will be announced in July during the broadcast of the 28th Annual Golden Spikes Award show. The broadcast, presented in conjunction with the Major League Baseball Players Association, will also highlight USA Baseball’s athlete programs as well as some of the various organizational youth baseball initiatives supported by USA Baseball and the MLBPA.

“USA Baseball is once again proud to recognize the inspiring performances of the nation’s top collegiate baseball players. We also appreciate our ongoing relationship with the Major League Baseball Players Association and the undying support Major Leaguers display in helping amateur baseball players, especially at the grassroots level,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director / CEO.

For the past 27 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State in 1978, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship.

PLAYER Pos Yr College Brennan Boesch OF So California Dennis Bigley RHP/DH Sr Oral Roberts Cameron Blair IF Sr Texas Tech Brian Bogusevic LHP/DH Jr Tulane Ryan Braun IF Jr Miami-FL Lance Broadway RHP Jr Texas Christian Travis Buck OF Jr Arizona State Cesar Carrillo LHP Jr Miami-FL Adam Carr IF Jr Oklahoma State Daniel Carte OF Jr Winthrop Jeff Clement C Jr USC Ben Copeland OF Jr Pittsburgh Jeff Corsaletti OF Sr Florida Mike Costanzo RHP/IF Jr Coastal Carolina J. Brent Cox RHP Jr Texas Trevor Crowe OF Jr Arizona Jacoby Ellsbury OF Jr Oregon State Alex Gordon IF Jr Nebraska Tyler Greene IF Jr Georgia Tech Kris Harvey RHP/DH Jr Clemson Craig Hansen RHP Jr St. John's Stephen Head LHP/OF Jr Mississippi Jay Heafner IF Jr Davidson Luke Hochevar RHP Jr Tennessee Jeff Larish IF Sr Arizona State Tim Lincecum RHP So Washington Erik Lis IF Jr Evansville Jed Lowrie IF Jr Stanford Andrew Miller LHP So North Carolina Micah Owings RHP/DH Jr Tulane Ryan Patterson OF Sr LSU Steve Pearce IF Sr South Carolina Mike Pelfrey RHP Jr Wichita State Cliff Pennington IF Jr Texas A&M Cesar Ramos LHP Jr Long Beach State Shane Robinson OF So Florida State Ricky Romero LHP Jr Cal State Fullerton Max Scherzer RHP So Missouri Scott Sizemore IF So VCU Ryan Zimmerman IF Jr Virginia

Related Articles