June 3, 2013 - by
Sitz Named Finalist for Gregg Olson Award

June 3, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State senior Scott Sitz was named a finalist for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports, honoring college baseball’s “Breakout Player of the Year”.

The senior was named one of six finalists for the award which will be presented to a top amateur baseball player who has elevated his game to an elite level throughout the 2013 campaign.

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Sitz is in the midst of a career year posting single-season highs for wins, starts, innings pitched and strikeouts. Following 7.1 shutout innings against Savannah State in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional opener, Sitz improved to 10-1 on the year lowering his team leading ERA to 1.59 in 90.1 innings with 75 strikeouts in 15 starts. He is tied for third in the ACC in wins, while his ERA ranks as the third lowest in the league. The Jacksonville Beach, Fla., native is currently on pace to establishing the lowest ERA by a Seminole pitcher since Scooby Morgan posted a 1.46 ERA in 1995 with at least 50 innings of work.

Recently, the right hander was named a third team All-American by Louisville Slugger for the first time in his career. Sitz also garnered first team All-ACC honors in 2013 and in the process extended Florida State’s streak of recording at least one student-athlete on the All-ACC first team to 20 straight years (1994-2013).

The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. Initial nominations were made by sports information/media contacts and voting was conducted by a panel for college baseball media members.

Finalist for 2013 Gregg Olson Award
Scott Baker, Ball State
Kerry Doane, East Tennessee State
Ryan Huck, Western Kentucky
Scott Sitz, Florida State
Mike Tauchman, Bradley
Ryan Thompson, Campbell


Related Articles