June 30, 2008 - by
Six Seminoles Named To Bednarik & Maxwell Award Watch Lists

June 30, 2008

Roslyn, PA – Six Seminole football players, three from the offense and three from the defense, were named to prestigious award watch lists on Monday. Everette Brown, Derek Nicholson and Myron Rolle were all named as candidates for the 14th annual Chuck Bednarik Award. Greg Carr, Antone Smith and Drew Weatherford were placed on the watch list for the 72nd Maxwell Award. Each list is comprised of 75 players who were selected based on their performance in 2007.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 1969 and the NFL Hall of Fame 1967.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced in early November and three finalists for each award will be announced November 25th. The winners of the 2008 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 6, 2009.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2008 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

Related Articles