May 11, 2012 - by
Soaring Scholar

May 11, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.,Michelle Jenije has added yet another honor to her incredible senior campaign with the Florida State track & field team.

Atlantic Coast Conference commissioner John Swofford announced Friday that the Tallahassee native has been selected as the league’s indoor track Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The honor completes an indoor double for the recent graduate with a degree in international affairs. Jenije was selected the ACC Indoor Field Performer of the Year on the strength of her silver medal triple jump performance at the 2012 NCAA Indoor Championship meet in March.

“Michelle is an incredibly deserving winner of this award,” Florida State coach Bob Braman said. “She was an NCAA runner-up and is one of the top scholar-athletes in the country. It’s extremely prideful to see her win an ACC championship (outdoor triple jump) and then win the Scholar-Athlete award.

“For us to continue to win that award is incredibly important to our program.”

A standout in the classroom throughout her career, Jenije graduated with a 3.733 grade point average and hopes to one day become a diplomatic ambassador.

She has certainly represented the Seminoles well on the track, especially during her final year of eligibility. She won the triple jump in two of five meets indoors, and never finished worse than second. After a runner-up finish at the ACC Indoor Championship – on a jump-off – Jenije responded with an all-time best mark of 13.54m (44-5.25) at the NCAA Indoor Championship meet in Nampa, Idaho. Jenije has extended that success during the current outdoor season, winning all four meets she has entered, including the Texas and Florida Relays, as well as her first ACC Outdoor title.

Jenije is the third consecutive Seminole to claim ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors for indoor track, coincidentally following two-time winner Kimberly Williams (2011, 2010), who is the most decorated triple jumper in ACC and NCAA history. She is also one of three current Seminoles on the track & field team to collect Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors, joining distance standouts Hannah Brooks and Jennifer Dunn, who have won the last two awards in women’s cross country.

Florida State’s cross country and track & field programs have been exceptionally well-represented in the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year program, which was launched during the 2007-08 academic year. In all, Seminole women have grabbed eight of 14 awards, while FSU men have five times.

A three-time All-ACC Academic honoree, Jenije was one of 12 FSU women selected to the squad, which requires athletes to have posted a minimum 3.0 grade point average over the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average throughout their careers. In addition to Jenije, Hannah Brooks, Lauren Giffin, Linden Hall, Jessica Parry, Marecia Pemberton, Jande Pierce, Colleen Quigley, Kayleigh Tyerman, Chelsea Whalen, Amanda Winslow and Aubree Worden were also selected to the All-ACC Academic team.

Gonzalo Barroilhet, the winner of the ACC Indoor pole vault title, was the lone representative from the men’s team. Barroilhet, who graduated with his MBA in April, is just the second Florida State athlete to earn All-ACC Academic honors five times. Ironically, the only other Seminole to manage that feat was 2011 graduate and football captain Ochuko Jenije, who is Michelle’s brother.

All-ACC Academic Seminoles

Gonzalo Barroilhet GS MBA
Hannah Brooks GS Sports Psychology
Lauren Giffin GS History
Linden Hall Fr. Dietetics
Michelle Jenije Sr. International Affairs
Jessica Parry Jr. Exercise Science
Marecia Pemberton Jr. Psychology
Jande Pierce Fr. Political Science
Colleen Quigley Fr. Dietetics
Kayleigh Tyerman Jr. Psychology
Chelsea Whalen So. Sport Management
Amanda Winslow Jr. Sport Management
Aubree Worden Fr. Dietetics

Related Articles