June 17, 2014 - by

Nov. 11, 1997

Florida State’s J.D. Drew Wins 1997 Golden Spikes Award

USA Baseball’s honor highlights Salute to Excellence Awards Program

TRENTON, NJ – USA Baseball announced that J.D. Drew, an outfielder from
Florida State University, topped an incredibly talented field of nine finalists
to capture the 1997 Golden Spikes Award. Six of the eight draft-eligible
finalists were selected in the first round of the 1997 Major League Baseball
amateur draft, including the top three picks overall. The 10th annual
presentation of the award served as the featured event at USA Baseball’s Salute
to Excellence Awards Program tonight at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City,
which was sponsored by the Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA).

“USA Baseball is extremely proud to honor J.D. Drew of Florida State University
with the 1997 Golden Spikes Award,” said Dan O’Brien, USA Baseball Executive
Director/CEO. “J.D.’s accomplishments certainly speak for themselves, and he is
quite deserving of this recognitionafter his brilliant collegiate career.”

For the past 19 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player
in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. The award is presented each year
to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic and exemplary sportsmanship.
Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball
stars such as Robin Ventura, Ben McDonald and Will Clark.

In 1997, J.D. Drew capped one of the finest careers in the history of college
baseball by claiming four “Player of the Year” awards, in addition to the
Golden Spikes Award. Drew was one of only three players in NCAA Division I
history, along with Lance Berkman (1997, Rice) and Jeff Ledbetter (1982,
Florida State), to chieve a “triple-triple” (100 RBI, 100 Runs and 100 Hits) in
a season. Further, he is the only player in Division I history to hit 30 homers
and steal 30 bases in the same season.

Selected by the Philadelphia Phillies with second choice overall in the 1997
amateur draft, Drew hit .455 with 31 home runs, 100 RBI, 110 runs and 32 stolen
bases this spring. He established an FSU record 34-game hit streak in which he
batted .524 with 20 home runs and 62 RBI. He also set FSU season records in
batting average, runs, slugging percentage (.961), walks (84) and grand slams
(3). Drew was also named Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Player of the Week
three times. His totals for homers, runs, slugging percentage and walks
established ACC seasons records. Also, Drew’s total bases tally (224) tied the
ACC season record.

David Johnathen Drew is the son of David and Libby Drew. The 1994 graduate of
Lowndes County High School in Hahira, GA, earned All-Area and All-Region honors
as a junior and senior. After high school, hew was selected in the 20th round
by the San Francisco Giants in 1994.


  • National Player of the Year

    -Baseball America

    -Collegiate Baseball

    -The Sporting News

  • Dick Howser Award Winner
  • Smith Award Finalist
  • First Team All-America


    -Baseball America

    -Collegiate Baseball


    -The Sporting News

  • NCAA East Region

    -All Tournament

  • ACC Player of the Year
  • ACC All-Tournament

    1997 Golden Spikes Award Finalists

    Matt Anderson, Rice, RHP, JR

    Lance Berkman, Rice, 1B, JR

    Pat Burrell, Miami, 3B, SO

    J.D. Drew, Florida State, OF, JR

    Troy Glaus, UCLA, 3B/SS, JR

    Tim Hudson, Auburn, RHP/OF, SR

    Adam Kennedy, Cal St.Northridge, SS, JR

    Brandon Larson, LSU, SS, JR

    Roberto Vaz, Alabama, LHP/OF, JR

    Golden Spikes Award Winners
    1997 JD Drew         Florida State
    1996 Travis Lee      San Diego State
    1995 Mark Kotsay     Cal State Fullerton
    1994 Jason Varitek   Georgia Tech
    1993 Darren Dreifort Wichita State
    1992 Phil Nevin      Cal State Fullerton
    1991 Mike Kelly      Arizona State
    1990 Alex Fernandez  Miami Dade-South
    1989 Ben McDonald    Louisiana State
    1988 Robin Ventura   Oklahoma State
    1987 Jim Abbott      Michigan
    1986 Mike Loynd      Florida State
    1985 Will Clark      Mississippi State
    1984 Oddibe McDowell Arizona State
    1983 Dave Magadan    Alabama
    1982 Augie Schmidt   New Orleans
    1981 Mike Fuentes    Florida State
    1980 Terry Francona  Arizona
    1979 Tim Wallach     Cal State Fullerton
    1978 Bob Horner      Arizona State

  • Related Articles