June 17, 2014 - by

The Sod Cemetery

In 1962, the FSU football team captains returned to Tallahassee
with a piece of the turf from Sanford Stadium after whipping Georgia
18-0 in Athens. The turf was presented to Dean Coyle E. Moore who
founded the tradition of the sod game. The sod cemetery began when
the first piece of sod was buried in the corner of the Florida State
practice field and a monument was placed to commemorate the road
victory. In the early years, FSU only snipped grass when it won by
upset on the road. But as the Seminoles became more successful, the
criteria changed. Sod games still represent road games won when FSU
is a significant underdog, however, all bowl games are now considered
sod games as well as landmark road wins no matter who was favored.
Each piece of sod is buried in the cemetery next to the practice field
and a tombstone is placed above it with the score and date of the

The Games

Year    Opponent         Score    Site    
1962    Georgia           18-0    Sanford Stadium         
        Georgia Tech      14-14   Grant Field 
        Auburn            14-14   Cliff Hare Stadium  
1963    Miami             24-0    Orange Bowl 
1964    Georgia           17-14   Sanford Stadium         
        Texas Christian   10-0    Amon G. Carter Stadium     
        Miami             14-0    Orange Bowl 
        Oklahoma          36-19   Gator Bowl  
1966    Miami             23-20   Orange Bowl 
        Texas Tech        42-33   Jones Stadium   
        South Carolina    32-10   Gator Bowl  
1967    Alabama           37-37   Denny Stadium   
        Memphis State     27-7    Memphis Memorial Stadium
        Texas A&M         19-18   Kyle Field  
        Florida           21-16   Florida Field   
        Penn State        17-17   Beaver Stadium      
1968    N.C. State        48-7    Carter Stadium          
        South Carolina    35-28   Carolina Stadium            
        Houston           40-20   Jeppesen Stadium    
1969    Miami             19-14   Orange Bowl 
        Virginia Tech     10-10   Lane Stadium    
1970    South Carolina    21-13   Carolina Stadium            
        Miami             27-3    Orange Bowl 
1976    Boston College    28-9    Alumni Stadium          
        North Texas State 21-20   Fouts Field 
1977    Oklahoma State    25-17   Lewis Field 
        Florida           34-9    Florida Field   
        Texas Tech        40-17   Tangerine Bowl  
1978    Syracuse          28-0    Archbold Stadium    
1979    Arizona State     31-3    Sun Devil Stadium           
        Louisiana State   24-19   Tiger Stadium   
        Florida           27-16   Florida Field   
1980    Louisiana State   16-0    Tiger Stadium   
        Nebraska          18-14   Memorial Stadium    
1981    Ohio State        36-27   Ohio Stadium    
        Notre Dame        19-13   Notre Dame Stadium  
1982    Miami             24-7    Orange Bowl 
        Ohio State        34-17   Ohio Stadium    
        West Virginia     31-12   Gator Bowl  
1983    Arizona State     29-26   Sun Devil Stadium   
        Louisiana State   40-35   Tiger Stadium   
        North Carolina    28-3    Atlanta Fulton County Stadium 
1984    Arizona State     52-44   Sun Devil Stadium   
        Georgia           17-17   Citrus Bowl 
1985    Nebraska          17-13   Memorial Stadium    
        Oklahoma State    34-23   Gator Bowl  
1986    Indiana           27-13   Legion Field    
1987    Michigan State    31-3    Spartan Stadium 
        Auburn            34-6    Jordan-Hare Stadium 
        Florida           28-13   Florida Field   
        Nebraska          31-28   Sun Devil Stadium   
1988    Clemson           24-21   Clemson Memorial Stadium    
        Auburn            13-7    Louisiana Superdome 
1989    Florida           24-17   Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at Florida Field    
        Nebraska          41-17   Sun Devil Stadium   
1990    Penn State        24-17   Joe Robbie Stadium  
1991    Michigan          51-31   Michigan Stadium    
        Texas A&M         10-2    Cotton Bowl 
1992    Clemson           24-20   Clemson Memorial Stadium    
        Georgia Tech      29-24   Bobby Dodd Stadium/Grant Field 
        Nebraska          27-14   Orange Bowl 
1993    Florida           33-21   Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at Florida Field    
        Nebraska          18-16   Orange Bowl     
1994    Notre Dame        23-16   Citrus Bowl 
        Florida           23-17   Louisiana Superdome 
1995    Notre Dame        31-26   Orange Bowl 
1996    Miami             34-16   Orange Bowl
2000    Oklahoma           2-13   Orange Bowl

Related Articles