August 14, 1998 - by

Lamont Green Named to 1998 Butkus Award Watch List

Football standout considered one of nation’s best linebackers.

August 14, 1998

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Senior linebacker Lamont Green was one of 68
candidates on the preliminary list for the 1998 Butkus Award, which is
annually presented to the nation’s best linebacker and given by the
Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.

Green, a native of Miami, Fla., is the Seminoles’ leading returning
tackler from 1998 with 85 stops, including six for loss. Last year,
Seminoles Sam Cowart and Daryl Bush were two of the 10 Butkus Award
semifinalists, while Cowart was a finalist for the award. Florida State
linebackers Marvin Jones (1992) and Paul McGowan (1987) are former Butkus
Award winners.

The list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on October 15, while three
finalists will be announced on November 12. The winner will be announced
on Friday, December 12, 1998.

Related Articles