June 17, 2014 - by

Nov. 24 1997

The Football News Names Coach of the Year Finalists

FSU’s Bowden makes semifinal list

MIAMI-Florida State University head football coach, Bobby Bowden, was named as a semifinalist for this year’s prestigious Football News’ National Coach of the Year Award.

Three finalists were chosen from a list of ten nominees which included FSU’s Bowden. The trio of finalists were selected this week and the 1997 Coach of the Year winner will be named in early December.

Purdue’s Joe Tiller tops the list of finalists and was nominated after he guided the Boilermakers to their first eight-win season since 1980.

Joining Tiller on the list of finalists is fellow Big Ten coach, Lloyd Carr, who led Michigan to an unbeaten regular season.New Mexico’s Dennis Franchione also made the final cut.

Carr, Tiller and Franchione were chose from a list of ten semifinalists that included Bowden, Tulane’s Tommy Bowden, North Carolina’s Mack Brown, Ohio’s Jim Grobe, Washington State’s Mike Price, Oklahoma State’s Bob Simmons and UCLA’s Bob Toledo.

The three Football News National Coach of the Year finalists, as selected by the publications editorial staff, are:

LLoyd Carr, Michigan

Joe Tiller, Purdue

Dennis Franchione, New Mexico

This year’s winner, along with the Football News’ Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year award winners, will be named on Monday, Dec. 1.

Related Articles