May 7, 1998 - by


Softball Players Earn All-ACC Honors

Hull, Bailey,McGregor and Venable are the honorees.

May 7, 1998

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Florida State senior Kristy Hull and juniors Dana Bailey, Jesse McGregor and Stacy Venable, of the 1998 Atlantic Coast Conference softball champions, have been named to the 1998 All-ACC softball team, announced today by the league office.

This is the third such honor for Hull, who was named the league’s Rookie of the Year in 1995 and also garnered honors last season. Hull has also been named to the ACC All-Tournament team for the past four years as the Lady Seminoles have won the league crown every year of her career.

Bailey, McGregor and Venable are all first time honorees. Bailey leads the team in batting (.345), hits (67) and stolen bases (27). McGregor is one of just five players who has started all 70 games and she is among the leaders on the team with 20 RBIs. Venable sports a 1.68 ERA and has a 19-7 record. Both Bailey and McGregor earned ACC All-Tournament honors while Venable was pegged the tourney’s Most Valuable Player.

The No. 14th-ranked Lady Seminoles (51-19) finished the regular-season on Wednesday with a split with No. 6 South Florida and now await an invitation to NCAA Regionals. The 32-team field will be announced on Sunday, May 10th at 9 p.m.

NOTE: The Florida State softball team will gather at the 4th Quarter Bar and Grill on Sunday, May 10th to watch the NCAA Softball Regional selection show. The selection show will air via satellite at 9 p.m. Eastern. Players and coaches will be available for interviews following the announcement.

Related Articles