June 17, 2014 - by

Florida State Women’s Volleyball

Since its beginning in 1968 with a group of physical education students and a volunteer coach, Florida State volleyball, which is considered FSU’s first women’s intercollegiate sport, has shed its club team roots to become one of the nation’s premiere programs.

In its infancy it was not uncommon for the group of aspiring athletes and teachers to pay their own way to tournaments and share warm-up suits with the other women’s club teams. The club struggled to become established in those early years as team members were faced with having to find a new volunteer head coach each of the program’s first five years.

After Florida State made its first ever appearance at the AIAW National Tournament in 1971, Dr. Billie Jones assumed the coaching duties on a permanent basis for the next six seasons. Under Jones’ direction the Seminoles amassed a 107-22 record, and volleyball at Florida State became a mainstay.

Success continued for the program as it returned to the AIAW National Tournament in 1973, ’74 and ’75, while competing for state and regional championships along the way. Popularity for the sport began to grow. In just a few short years, Florida State volleyball became recognized as one of the sport’s up-and-coming programs.

Current head coach Cecile Reynaud continued to build on the foundation laid by her predecessors. Under Reynaud’s guidance, FSU qualified for the AIAW National Tournament three more times. After its AIAW appearance in 1981, Florida State joined the NCAA and began competing as a member of the Metro Conference in 1982.
Before FSU joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 1992, the Lady Seminoles dominated the Metro Conference, capturing six league titles. Florida State seized its first ACC Championship in 1998. Overall, in nine years of ACC play, the Lady Seminoles have an ACC regular season co-championship to their credit and have played in three ACC Tournament title matches.

Since Florida State became a NCAA volleyball member in 1982, the Seminoles have qualified for the National Championship Tournament 10 times, including eight appearances in the last 13 years.

Several of FSU’s volleyball alumni have gone on to play professionally. Whether it be in Europe or the sandy shores of California, Florida State’s top athletes often choose to continue playing the game they love. In recent years, three former FSU volleyball players have been on tour with the professional beach circuit.

Perhaps the most famous of the FSU volleyball alumni is world-class model Gabrielle Reece. After enjoying a standout career at Florida State, Reece went on to captain Team Nike on the pro beach circuit. She has had a fitness column in ELLE Magazine and appeared on MTV Sports. Reece co-authored her first book Big Girl in the Middle and has been featured on Lifetime Television’s Intimate Portrait.

In the 32 years since its inception, Florida State volleyball has
prided itself in giving athletes the opportunity to reach their full
potential both on the court and in the classroom. Pride, tradition and
success are all part of what is known as Lady Seminole volleyball.


1968Martha Pat Moore
1969Dr. Judy Blucher
1970Dr. Billie Jones
1971Dr. Linda Warren
1972-1975Dr. Billie Jones (107-22)
1976-PresentDr. Cecile Reynaud (618-314)


1983TallahasseeTennessee15-12, 15-12, 1-15, 10-15, 8-15
1985AthensGeorgia6-15, 1-15, 11-15
1987AustinTexas6-15, 11-15, 9-15
1988TallahasseeColorado State3-15, 5-15, 15-9, 7-15
1989TallahasseeCalifornia15-11, 11-15, 13-15, 13-15
1990LexingtonKentucky12-15, 10-15, 15-10, 10-15
1992GainesvilleFlorida9-15, 3-15, 10-15
1993TallahasseeDePaul15-8, 7-15, 15-10, 15-13
 TallahasseePacific6-15, 17-15, 6-15, 9-15
1997GainesvilleSouth Florida15-8, 4-15, 13-15, 15-7, 9-15
1998LouisvilleNorthern Illinois15-10, 11-15, 10-15, 12-15


METRO1982Tallahassee, FLFlorida State3rd
METRO1983Louisville, KYLouisville1st
METRO1984Columbia, SCSouth Carolina3rd
METRO1985Hattiesburg, MSSouthern Miss.1st
METRO1986Blacksburg, VAVirginia Tech1st
METRO1987Memphis, TNMemphis State1st
METRO1988Cincinnati, OHCincinnati1st
METRO1989Tallahassee, FLFlorida State1st
METRO1990Louisville, KYLouisville3rd
ACC1991Charlottesville, VAVirginia3rd
ACC1992College Park, MDMaryland2nd
ACC1993Durham, NCDuke2nd
ACC1994Chapel Hill, NCNorth Carolina3rd
ACC1995Clemson, SCClemson3rd
ACC1996Atlanta, GAGeorga Tech5th
ACC1997Raleigh, NCNC State3rd
ACC1998College Park, MDMaryland1st
ACC2000Winston-Salem, NCWake Forest 
ACC2001Tallahassee, FLFlorida State???


Related Articles