June 17, 2014 - by

Florida State Women’s Volleyball History

Since its beginning in 1968 with a group of physical education students and a volunteer coach, Florida State volleyball has shed its club team roots to become one of the nation’s premiere programs.

In its infancy it was not uncommon for the group of aspiring athletes and teachers to pay their own way to tournaments and share warm-up suits with the other women’s club teams. The club struggled to become established in those early years as team members were faced with having to find a new volunteer head coach each of the program’s first five years.

After Florida State made its first ever appearance at the AIAW National Tournament in 1971, Dr. Billie Jones assumed the coaching duties on a permanent basis for the next six seasons. Under Jones’ direction the Seminoles amassed a 107-22 record, and volleyball at Florida State became a mainstay.

Success continued for the program as it returned to the AIAW National Tournament in 1973, ’74 and ’75, while competing for state and regional championships along the way. Popularity for the sport began to grow. Former FSU basketball head coach Hugh Durham and his wife Melinda were two of the team’s biggest supporters, often attending home matches. In just a few short years, Florida State volleyball became recognized as one of the sport’s up-and-coming programs.

Current head coach Cecile Reynaud continued to build on the foundation laid by her predecessors. Under Reynaud’s guidance, FSU qualified for the AIAW National Tournament three more times. After its third successive AIAW appearance in 1981, Florida State joined the NCAA and began competing in the Metro Conference in ’82.

Before FSU joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 1992, it had captured six Metro Conference titles. In five years of ACC play the Seminoles have an ACC regular season co-championship to their credit and have played in two ACC tournament title matches.

Since Florida State became a NCAA volleyball member in 1982, the Seminoles have qualified for the National Championship Tournament eight times, including six appearances in the last ten years. Several of FSU’s volleyball alumni have gone on to play professionally. Whether it be in Europe or the sandy shores of California, Florida State’s top athletes often choose to continue playing the game they love. Currently, three FSU volleyball players are on tour with the professional beach circuit.

Perhaps the most famous of the FSU volleyball alumni is Nike spokeswoman and world-class model Gabrielle Reece. After enjoying a standout career at Florida State, Reece has gone on to captain Team Nike on the pro beach circuit. She recently had a regular fitness column in ELLE magazine and has appeared on MTV Sports. Reece co-authored her first book entitled Big Girl in the Middle, which was released this summer.

In the 29 years since its inception, Florida State volleyball has prided itself in giving athletes the opportunity to reach their full potential both on the court and in the classroom. Pride, tradition and success are all part of what is known as Seminole Volleyball.

FSU Volleyball Coaches
1968          Martha Pat Moore
1969          Dr. Judy Blucher
1970          Dr. Billie Jones
1971          Dr. Linda Warren
1972-75       Dr. Billie Jones (107-22)
1976-present  Cecile Reynaud (539-260)
Tournament History
Conference Tournaments
CONF.   YEAR    SITE              HOST            FINISH
METRO   1982    Tallahassee, FL   FSU             3rd Place
METRO   1983    Louisville, KY    Louisville      Champions
METRO   1984    Columbia, SC      South Carolina  3rd Place
METRO   1985    Hattiesburg, MS   Southern Miss   Champions
METRO   1986    Blacksburg, VA    Virginia Tech   Champions
METRO   1987    Memphis, TN       Memphis State   Champions
METRO   1988    Cincinnati, OH    Cincinnati      Champions
METRO   1989    Tallahassee, FL   FSU             Champions
METRO   1990    Louisville, KY    Louisville      3rd Place
ACC     1991    Charlottesville,  VA Virginia     3rd Place
ACC     1992    College Park, MD  Maryland        Runner-up
ACC     1993    Durham, NC        Duke            Runner-up
ACC     1994    Chapel Hill, NC   North Carolina  3rd Place
ACC     1995    Clemson, SC       Clemson         3rd Place 
ACC     1996    Atlanta, GA       Georgia Tech    5th Place
NCAA Championships
YEAR    SITE          Opponent     SCORE
1983    Tallahassee   Tennessee    15-12, 15-12, 1-15, 10-15, 8-15
1985    Athens        Georgia      6-15, 1-15, 11-15
1987    Austin        Texas        6-15, 11-15, 9-15
1988    Tallahassee   Colorado St. 3-15, 5-15, 15-9, 7-15
1989    Tallahassee   California   15-11, 11-15, 13-15, 13-15
1990    Lexinton      Kentucky     12-15, 10-15, 15-10, 10-15
1992    Gainesville   Florida      9-15, 3-15, 10-15
1993    Tallahassee   DePaul       15-8, 7-15, 15-10, 15-13
        Tallahassee   Pacific      6-15, 17-15, 6-15, 9-15

Related Articles