May 15, 2009 - by
Stephen Cardullo Named Semifinalist For Brooks Wallace Award

May 15, 2009

LUBBOCK, Texas – Florida State’s Stephen Cardullo is one of 15 student-athletes named as a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Award presented by the College Baseball Foundation and Mizuno.

For the first time since its creation in 2004, the Wallace Award will honor the country’s finest shortstop. Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year. Last year, Florida State’s Buster Posey was the recipient of the Brooks Wallace Award, while Tony Thomas, Jr., was named a finalist in 2007.

In his first year as a regular starter for the Seminoles, Cardullo is hitting .365 in 51 games with 14 doubles, nine home runs and 33 RBI. The Coral Springs, Fla., native currently ranks second on the team in on-base percentage (.485) and third in batting average and slugging percentage (.602). He has surpassed his career totals in almost every major offensive category this year.

Cardullo fell into his own at shortstop after making the move to that position on March 17 against Florida. In 35 starts at short, Cardullo has committed just eight errors in 145 fielding opportunities. During this time, Florida State has responded with a 28-8 mark after beginning the season 9-6. The move also seemed to spark his offensive production as Cardullo leads all players with a .403 average with eight home runs and 30 RBI. His average while starting at shortstop is 148 points higher than in his 15 combined starts at first and second base.

The Wallace Award will be honored during the College Baseball Awards (CBA) Show on July 2 in Lubbock. The CBA will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF’s annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the National Pitcher of the Year and the Dick Howser Trophy for the National Player of the Year.

Brooks Wallace Award Semifinalist List
Name, School, Conference
Ben Orloff, UC Irvine, Big West
Bryan Marquez, New Mexico St., WAC
Bryant Hernandez, Oklahoma, Big 12
Christian Colon, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Clint Moore, Army, Patriot
Derek Dietrich, Georgia Tech, ACC
DJ LeMahieu, LSU, SEC
Drew Biery, Kansas State, Big 12
Drew Lee, Morehead State, OVC
Gary Helmick, Towson, Colonial
Jedd Gyorko, West Virginia, Big East
Jordan Kreke, Eastern Illinois, OVC
Kyle Bellows, San Jose State, WAC
Ryan Goins, Dallas Baptist, Independent
Stephen Cardullo, Florida State, ACC

Related Articles