April 30, 2009 - by
Stephen Cardullo Named To Brooks Wallace Award Watch List

April 30, 2009

LUBBOCK, Texas – Florida State’s Stephen Cardullo is one of 38 student-athletes named to the initial watch list for the Brooks Wallace Award presented by the College Baseball Foundation and Mizuno.

For the first time since its creation in 2004, the Wallace Award will honor the country’s finest shortstop. Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year. Last year, Florida State’s Buster Posey was the recipient of the Brooks Wallace Award, while Tony Thomas, Jr., was named a finalist in 2007.

In his first year as a regular starter for the Seminoles, Cardullo is hitting .351 in 41 games with 10 doubles, seven home runs and 26 RBI. The Coral Springs, Fla., native currently ranks third on the team in batting average and on-base percentage (.468) and fourth in slugging percentage (.574). He has surpassed his career totals in almost every major offensive category this year.

Cardullo fell into his own at shortstop after making the move to that position on March 17 against Florida. In 26 starts at short, Cardullo has committed just four errors in 97 fielding opportunities. During this time, Florida State has responded with a 21-6 mark after beginning the season 9-6. The move also seemed to spark his offensive production as Cardullo leads all players with a .396 average with six home runs and 23 RBI. His average while starting at shortstop is 141 points higher than in his 15 combined starts at first and second base.

The Wallace Award will be honored during the College Baseball Awards (CBA) Show on July 2 in Lubbock. The CBA will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF’s annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the National Pitcher of the Year and the Dick Howser Trophy for the National Player of the Year.

Brooks Wallace Award Watch List
Name, School
Shaver Hanson, Baylor
Kyle Smith, Cal Poly
Christian Colon, Cal State Fullerton
Brian Guinn, California
Zach Kayne, Davidson
Dustin Harrington, East Carolina
Jordan Kreke, Eastern Illinois
Mike Mooney, Florida
Steven Wickens, Florida Gulf Coast
Stephen Cardullo, Florida State
Brian Pierce, Georgia
Dereck Dietrich, Georgia Tech
Brandon Wikoff, Illinois
David Herbek, James Madison
Drew Biery, Kansas State
Daniel Bierce, Lafayette
Ben Soignier, Louisiana Monroe
DJ LeMahieu, LSU
Nick DiMauro, Mercer
Drew Lee, Morehead State
Bryan Marquez, New Mexico St.
Bryant Hernandez, Oklahoma
Juan Martinez, Oral Roberts
Jeff Kemp, Radford
Dan Rhault, Rhode Island
Rick Hague, Rice
Ryan Bennett, Saint Louis
Sean Nicol, San Diego
Kyle Bellows, San Jose State
Gary Helmick, Towson
Josh Prince, Tulane
Ben Orloff, UC Irvine
Grant Green, USC
Matt Duffy, Vermont
Tyler Cannon, Virginia
Jedd Gyorko, West Virginia
Terrence Dayleg, Western Kentucky
Tyler Grimes, Wichita State


Related Articles