April 7, 2008 - by
Student-Athletes Honored At 14th Annual Golden Nole Awards Banquet

April 7, 2008


Florida State’s student-athletes were dressed to the hilt at the 14th annual Golden Nole Awards Banquet, Monday night at the University Center. Hosted by the Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and presented by the Florida State Department of Athletics, the glitzy event is an all-sports banquet that recognizes the achievements of FSU student-athletes, those who have proudly worn the Garnet and Gold during the last year.

“This is a special evening for me,” Director of Athletics Randy Spetman said. “I wish I could have been with you all year long to share in the great accomplishments that I have heard about this evening. What I see every day is that you make great accomplishments in the academic arena and in the athletic arena and I totally appreciate what you do so much. I’m here for you. I’m here for you everyday to make it better for you. Tonight we have deans, vice presidents, faculty, staff, coaches, trainers, doctors here to support you, to make you better, make you better citizens, better people. I thank those who are here to support these great athletes of the Seminole family.”

Attended by more than 300 student-athletes, administrators and guests, awards from fall and spring sports were given to individuals from each team as chosen by the coaches. Criteria for the award consist of overall athletic achievement, community service, attitude and dedication. Other special awards were also presented including the Doc Fauls Award, the ACC Top Six Awards for Service, the Shining Star Award, the Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship and the Athletic Director’s Cup for Service.


Women’s Basketball – Shante Williams

Men’s Basketball – Jason Rich

Men’s Cross Country -Luke Gunn

Women’s Cross Country – Susan Kuijken

Football – Andre Fluellen

Soccer – Libby Gianeskis and Kirsten van de Ven

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Brendan Burke

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Abbie King and Stacy Rademacher

Volleyball – Lauren Richardson

Baseball – Dennis Guinn

Buster Posey

Men’s Golf – Jonas Blixt

Women’s Golf – Ashley Kemp

Softball – Robyn Petrovich

Men’s Tennis – Sam Chang

Women’s Tennis – Tapiwa Marobela

Men’s Track & Field – Walter Dix

Women’s Track & Field – Kandia Batchelor

The ACC Top Six for Service recipients were selected throughout the year for something unique that distinguished them as top performers in FSU’s community service program. The primary criteria are a willingness to participate and a desire to serve despite time constraints. The selected students made significant contributions to the community and were positive ambassadors for the department.


Everette Brown – Football

Jessica Carr – Women’s Swimming

Walter Dix – Men’s Track

Naikeya Heath – Women’s Track

Brad Mixson – Men’s Tennis

Cayla Moore – Women’s Basketball

The Doc Fauls Award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the male and female senior Seminole student-athletes who have overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University. As the Head Athletic Trainer at Florida State University from 1954-1986, Doc Fauls had the opportunity to touch the lives of many. He consistently treated each and everyone in an honest, professional manner and was always willing to take the time to help the athletes through the physical and emotional pain that often came with participation in intercollegiate athletics.


Jacky Claude – Football

Shante Williams – Women’s Basketball

The Jason Evans Memorial Scholarshipis given annually to an exceptional athletic training student. This scholarship is named for Jason Evans who was an outstanding first-year athletic training student, ranked #1 in his admission class. In the fall of 2006, he and his sister were tragically killed. This scholarship commemorates Jason and his family’s commitment and passion for athletic training at Florida State University.


Mary Anderson – Graduate Student Trainer

The Shining Star Award, a new award this season, recognizes a person who makes a major commitment to community service. This person goes out and gives of him or herself even when they are busy or do not feel well. This person genuinely makes community service a priority all of the time.


Ashley Kemp – Women’s Golf

Donated more than 1100 hours of community service over the last four years.

While a student-athlete from each sport was honored, there was only one team award given which was the prestigious Athletic Director’s Cup for Service. While the race was tight, Athletics Director Randy Spetman proudly presented the trophy to the Seminole women’s golf team for the seventh straight year.


Women’s Golf (7th year in a row)

Related Articles