March 17, 2009 - by
Sue Semrau Named 2009 Russell Athletic/WBCA Division I Region 2 Coach of the Year

March 17, 2009

Atlanta, ga. – The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced Tuesday that Florida State head coach Sue Semrau has been named the 2009 Russell Athletic/WBCA Division I Region 2 Coach of the Year.


This is Semrau’s second coaching award of the season as she has already been named the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Coach of the Year.


In her 12th season at the helm of the FSU women’s basketball program, Semrau has helped guide her team to the greatest regular-season in school history. Monday night it was announced that the Seminoles (25-7) have been rewarded for their stellar 2008-09 campaign with the program’s highest seeding ever in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament.


As a No. 3 seed, FSU will travel to Duluth, Ga. to take on no. 14 seed North Carolina A&T on Saturday, March 21 in the first round of the tournament.


In Georgia, Semrau and the Seminoles will be looking to prolong a season that saw them earn the program’s first Atlantic Coast Conference championship after finishing tied with Maryland for most wins in the conference with 12. FSU then parlayed its regular-season accomplishments into a league tournament showing that saw the team reach the semifinals for just the second time ever.


FSU’s 25 wins so far this year is a new career high for Semrau, who surpassed career victory No. 200 already this season. She has also coached four players that earned All-ACC honors this season.


Junior forward Jacinta Monroe led the way with two nods as she was named to the All-ACC Defensive and All-ACC Second teams.


Senior guards Mara Freshour and Tanae Davis-Cain were both named to the All-ACC Third Team. They both were also named to the ACC All-Tournament Team, marking the first time in Seminole history that two FSU players earned that type of recognition in the same season.


True freshman center Cierra Bravard rounded out the awards with an All-ACC Rookie Team selection.


Florida State’s opening-round showdown with the Aggies on March 21 will tip-off at 2 p.m. and will be aired on ESPN2.


The Florida State Athletic Ticket Office has already started accepting ticket requests for the game. The ticket office will accept requests from current Seminole Booster members and Women’s Basketball season ticket holders by phone at 888-FSU-Nole or in person at the Seminole Ticket Office at Doak Campbell Stadium. Deadline for submitting a ticket request is Tuesday at 5 p.m. Requests for tickets will not be confirmed until Wednesday morning once the overall ticket demand is determined. There is no limit on the number tickets a booster or season ticket holder may request; however, if demand exceeds supply, then limits will be placed on orders, before credit cards are processed.

Should Florida State win on Saturday, boosters or season ticket holders who purchase tickets for the 1st round, would have the option to purchase tickets for the 2nd round game also to be played in Duluth on Monday, March 23.

Below are the Russell Athletic/WBCA Regional Coaches of the Year for NCAA Division I winners listed by region:

NCAA Division I






Region 1

Geno Auriemma

University of Connecticut

Region 2

Sue Semrau

Florida State University

Region 3

Nell Fortner

Auburn University

Region 4

Curt Miller

Bowling Green State

Region 5

Sherri Coale

University of Oklahoma

Region 6

Jim Foster

Ohio State University

Region 7

Elaine Elliott

University of Utah

Region 8

Tara VanDerveer

Stanford University

Related Articles