June 21, 1999 - by
Swimming and Diving Completes Season

March 2, 1998

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.–After successful dual meet competition for the Seminoles, the swimming and diving teams completed their fifth season under Coach Don Gibb with the ACC Championships. The women, who finished the season dual meet with a 5-2 record, finished sixth at the championships as the men, who finished the regular season 6-1, finished third behind North Carolina and Virginia.

The ACC Championships for the women were held February 19-21 in Charlottesville, Virginia. Sophomore Anne Blachford and junior Samantha White led the competition for the Seminoles. Blachford came off a broken collarbone in the fall season to finish second in the 100 Breast and fourth in the 200 Breast. White, the defending ACC Champion in the 100 Breast, finished third in the event and finished ninth in the 200 Breast. Freshman Kristen Adams also added to the top finishes, finishing sixth in the 200 Free, eighth in the 100 Free, and ninth in the 500 Free. In diving action, senior Sarah Henderson finished fourth as sophomore Marya Sabesky finished tenth. Adams teamed up with Tenelle Ramer, Ann Parker, and Meagan Bradley to finish third in the 800 Free Relay. Sarah Kate Havens joined Blachford, Adams, and White a sixth place finishes in the 400 Medley Relay and 200 Medley Relay. The fifth place finish in the 400 Free Relay came from Adams, Ramer, Blachford, and Karin Holmstedt. The ACC competition was the final competition for the Seminole swimmers for the 1997-98 season. The divers will travel to the NCAA Zone Regional diving competition at the University of Georgia.

The Seminoles returned to Charlottesville for the men’s ACC Championships February 25-28 where they set many pool records and had seven swimmers qualify for the NCAA Championships. Florida State swimmers Julio Santos, Matt McVittie, Kevin Flanagan, and Brendon Dedekind defended their 200 Free Relay title, winning the first event of the meet in a pool record time of 1:19.00, qualifying them for the NCAA Championships. Dedekind went on to win the 50 Free in a pool record time of 19.52 with Santos finishing second, McVittie finishing fifth, and Kevin Flanagan finishing eigth. Junior Stephen Parry finished fourth in the 200 IM with a NCAA provisional qualifying time. Parry also finished fourth in the 100 Fly and third in the 200 Fly. Dedekind finished his competition winning the 100 Breast for the second year in a pool record time of 54.48 and finished second in the 100 Free. Brett Petersen swam the meet of his life, finishing second in the 100 Breast and ninth in the 200 Breast. The Seminoles all but swept the relays. Besides winnig the 200 Free Relay, the Noles won the 200 Medley Relay , 400 Free Relay , and finished third in the 800 Free Relay. Parry, Petersen, Keam Ang, and Dedekind won the 200 Medely relay in an ACC Meet record and pool record time of 1:28.61. The same team from the 1998 ACC Champion 200 Free Relay won the 400 Free Relay in a pool record of 2:57.11, also a provisional qualifying time.

The divers hade an exceptional meet. All three divers qualified for the finals of the 1-meter springboard and two qualified for the 3-meter springboard. Brent Burkman finished third in both events, scoring 478.25 points in the 3-meter and 449.00 in the 1-meter. Glenn Gonzales also competed in both finals, finishing fourth on both boards with a score of 448.65 on the 1-meter and 453.45 on the 3-meter. Ben Nuttall completed his comeptition, finishing eigth on the 1-meter and ninth on the 3-meter. All three divers will compete in the NCAA Zone Regional diving in Athens, GA.

The Seminoles will send seven men to the NCAA Championships in Auburn, AL. Brendon Dedekind, Stephen Parry, Matt McVittie, Kevin Flanagan, Keam Ang, Julio Santos, and Brett Petersen will all compete in individual events as well as relays. The NCAA Championships will be held March 26-28 at the Auburn University.

Related Articles