June 21, 1999 - by
Swimming and Diving Splits with LSU

January 30, 1999

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams split
their final meet of the year today at the Bobby E. Leach Center as the men
defeated LSU 155-85 and the women fell 99-143. The Seminoles are 6-1 (2-0
in the ACC) as the Lady Seminoles are 4-4 (1-1 in the ACC).

The Seminoles won eleven of the thirteen events and had four NCAA “B”
Consideration times. Brendon Dedekind won the 50 Free in an NCAA
Consideration time of 19.90 and the 100 Breast in a consideration time of
55.13 as Julio Santos took second in the 50 Free with a consideration time
of 20.27 and won the 100 Free (45.31). Stephen Parry took first in the 200
Free (1:40.23) and the 100 Back in a NCAA Consideration time of 48.83 as
Keam Ang took first in the 100 Fly (45.31) Danny Chocron won the 500 and
1000 Free as Greg Main-Baillie won the 200 IM and finished third in the 100
Back. Glenn Gonzales took the top spot in the 3-meter diving as Ben Nuttall
took third and Brent Burkman finished fourth.

Tanya Gurr led the way for the Lady Seminoles as she won the 200 Free in
an NCAA Consideration time of 1:50.64 as well as winning the 100 Free
(51.75). Anne Blachford took first in the 50 Free as Kristen Adams took
first in the 500 Free and second in the 200 Free. Other top finished
included Summer Washburn with a second place finish in the 200 IM and 200
Back and Lisa Kirsch, who finished second in the 1000 Free, just
five-hundreths of a second off the first place time. Gurr and Adams joined
Katie Wright and Karin Holmstedt and won the 400 Free Relay.

The Lady Seminoles will travel to College Park, Maryland to compete in
the ACC Championships February 18-20. The men will travel to Maryland
February 25-27 for the ACC Championships.

Related Articles