March 6, 2017 - by
Thomas Named ACC Player of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Women’s Basketball junior forward Shakayla Thomas has been named the ACC Player of the Year by the league’s 15 head coaches, announced on Monday afternoon by the conference.

Senior Brittany Brown earned her second ACC All-Defensive Team selection while senior point guard Leticia Romero earned a spot on the All-ACC Second Team. Thomas is automatically placed on the Coaches’ All-ACC First Team.

Thomas is Florida State’s first ACC Player of the Year, averaging 14.8 points, 5.3 rebounds and shooting 50.3 percent (185-of-368) from the floor. The Sylacauga, Ala., native has recorded a team-best six 20-point games as well as 23 double-figure scoring performances in her 29 games played.

The All-ACC First Team performer is a Naismith Trophy Top 30 member as well as a Wooden Award and Wade Trophy Watch List member. She is 13th in the conference in both scoring and field goal percentage, and has ignited Florida State to a school-record seven AP Top 25 wins and a 25-6 overall record.

Thomas now owns three conference player of the year awards after being a two-time ACC Sixth Player of the Year in 2015 and 2016.

Brown once again solidified her status as perhaps the best defensive guard in the conference. She is fourth in the ACC with 78 steals, averaging 2.5 per game. The Fort Walton Beach, Fla., native is also one of the best rebounding guards in the nation, averaging 5.8 boards per game.

Thomas Named ACC Player of the Year

Brown is far and away FSU’s all-time steals leader with 307 career steals, which is the fourth-most among active NCAA Division I players. She is 19th on the ACC’s career steals list, and the fifth Seminole to earn a selection to the team multiple times. She joins Brooke Wyckoff (twice), Alicia Gladden (three times), Jacinta Monroe (twice) and Natasha Howard (twice).

Romero earns second-team honors after another strong season with the Seminoles. The Las Palmas, Spain, native has had career bests in points per game (12.2), 3-point field goal percentage (53.1) and free-throw percentage (92.5).

The nation’s only returning Olympic Medalist was an All-ACC First Team selection by the Blue Ribbon Panel last week. She has 18 of her 48 career double-figure scoring performances this season, and was also a Wooden, Naismith and Wade Watch List member.

2016-17 ACC Head Coaches Season Honors

ACC Player of the Year: Shakayla Thomas, Jr., F, Florida State
ACC Freshman of the Year: Francesca Pan, Fr., G, Georgia Tech
ACC Coach of the Year: Wes Moore, NC State

2016-17 All ACC Team (as selected by the head coaches)
First Team
Lexie Brown, R-Jr., G, Duke
Rebecca Greenwell, R-Jr., G, Duke
Shakayla Thomas, Jr., F, Florida State
Asia Durr, So., G, Louisville
Miah Spencer, Sr., G, NC State
Dominique Wilson, Sr., G, NC State
Lindsay Allen, Sr., G, Notre Dame
Brianna Turner, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Alexis Peterson, Sr., G, Syracuse
Brittney Sykes, R-Sr., G, Syracuse

Second Team
Leticia Romero, Sr., G, Florida State
Myisha Hines-Allen, Jr., F, Louisville
Mariya Moore, Jr., F, Louisville
Adrienne Motley, Sr., G, Miami
Jessica Thomas, Sr., G, Miami

All-Freshman Team
Kobi Thornton, Fr., P, Clemson
Leaonna Odom, Fr., F, Duke
Francesca Pan, Fr., G, Georgia Tech
Jackie Young, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Gabby Cooper, Fr., G, Syracuse
Dominique Toussaint Fr., G, Virginia
Jocelyn Willoughby, Fr., G, Virginia
Alex Sharp, Fr., G, Wake Forest

All-Defensive Team
Brittany Brown, Sr., G, Florida State
Lexie Brown, Jr., G, Duke
Brianna Turner, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Alexis Peterson, Sr., G, Syracuse
Brittney Sykes, R-Sr., G, Syracuse

Related Articles