November 3, 2003 - by
Thorpe Named Semifinalist For Biletnikoff Award As Nation’s Top Collegiate Receiver

Nov. 3, 2003

Florida State junior Craphonso Thorpe has been named as a semifinalist the Biletnikoff Award which honors the nation’s top collegiate wide receiver. The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, who played wide receiver at Florida State from 1961-64 and was the Seminoles’ first consensus All-American.

Thorpe is looking to become the first Seminole to win the award. Thorpe leads the Seminoles in receiving yards with a career-high 856 and leads the ACC in touchdowns receptions with nine. He is averaging, career-high 20.4 yards per catch and 95 receiving yards per game.

Thorpe increased his national profile against Notre Dame with seven catches from quarterback Chris Rix for 217 yards. His seven catches included a 35-yard catch to set up a Xavier Beitia field goal and a 51-yard catch that led to another first half touchdown. He also caught two touchdown passes of his own to help the Seminoles to a 37-0 win at Notre Dame.

The Biletnikoff award, sponsored by the Quarterback Club of Tallahassee, was award to Charles Rogers of Michigan State in 2002. In addition Randy, Moss won the award in 1997. All but one recipient of this award has played in the NFL. Of the nine players who have won the Biletnikoff Award, eight are currently playing in the NFL, four were first round draft picks and two more were second round selections.

As a senior, Biletnikoff ranked fourth in the nation with 57 receptions for 11 touchdowns and he added four touchdown catches in the 1964 Gator Bowl. After his time with the Garnet and Gold, Biletnikoff enjoyed success in the National Football League. He played for the Oakland Raiders for 14 years, went to four Pro Bowls and was Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

Related Articles