February 9, 2000 - by
Three Members Of National Championship Team Earn Academic Honors

Feb. 9, 2000

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Three members of the Florida State football team were
named to the ACC All-Academic football team, the league announced

FSU quarterback Chris Weinke, tight end Ryan Sprague and free safety
Chris Hope were named to the team for their outstanding effort in the
classroom and on the field. Weinke, who was honored as the ACC’s Brian
Piccolo Award winner this year after his comeback from neck surgery,
finished the 1999 season ranked seventh nationally in passing efficiency
having completed 232 of 377 passes for a league-high 3,103 yards and 25

Duke led the All-ACC academic team with seven selections. Florida State
tied with Virginia and Maryland for second place with three selections
each. Tied with two selections each were Clemson, NC State, Wake Forest
and Georgia Tech. North Carolina had one member on the team.

Related Articles