February 21, 2013 - by
Three Seminoles Earn ACC Postgraduate Scholarships

Feb. 21, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced on Thursday a list of 41 student-athletes who have been selected for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award. Among the scholarship recipients are three from Florida State University including Tiana Brockway (soccer), Kristine Polley (swimming) and Andres Bucaro (tennis).

The ACC also awarded three student-athletes the Thacker Award, while five student-athletes who plan to enter a professional career in their chosen sport were named honorary recipients.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes – three from each league institution – who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Tiana Brockway, Florida State, Psychology, Soccer, Tacoma, Wash.
A four-year starter at Florida State, Tiana Brockway finished her Seminole career ranked among the school leaders in appearances (95) and game starts (94). She played a key role in leading FSU to back-to-back College Cup appearances in 2011 and 2012, the school’s first ACC Championship in 2011 and a pair of conference regular season titles in 2009 and 2012. Brockway was a member of the 2011 ACC All-Academic Team and was a two-time member of the ACC Academic Honor Roll. The Tacoma, Wash., native was honored on the NSCAA South Scholar All-Region third team in 2011 and 2012. Brockway earned her bachelor’s degree in psychology and a minor in child development in the fall of 2012.

“Tiana was a tremendous leader for us both on the field and in the classroom over her four year career at Florida State,” said head coach Mark Krikorian. “She was a hard worker in all facets of the game and we are extremely excited that Tiana was recognized for her hard work as a recipient of a postgraduate scholarship.”

Kristine Polley, Florida State, Exercise Science/Pre-Med, Swimming, Marietta, Ga.
A native of Marietta, Ga., Kristine Polley was elected as a team captain in her final season as a Seminole during the 2012-13 year. Polley is a two-time ACC Championship finalist in the 200 breast, while holding the second fastest time in school history at 2:13.39. Over the past three seasons, Polley has contributed to three third place finishes by FSU at the ACC Championships, scoring points in the 100 and 200 breast in addition to the 200 IM and medley relays. She is a two-time U.S. Olympic Trial qualifier. In the classroom, Polley was a two-time Dean’s List honoree while earning both All-ACC Academic team and ACC Honor Roll accolades three times.

“Kristine has set terrific examples during her four years at FSU,” head coach Neil Harper said. “She treats her swimming and academics equally and is just a great role model to the team. From a coaching standpoint, she’s everything you want in an athlete. As a leader, she’s brought the team together this year. She’s a silent leader that brings that calmness to the pool. When she speaks, the team listens. I’m very excited for her.”

Andres Bucaro, Florida State, Business Management, Tennis, Guatemala City, Guatemala
During the 2011-12 season, Andres Bucaro, a two-year team captain, entered the top 10 record books for most wins in a season at Florida State with 28 singles wins. With his strong play on the court, the three-time letterwinner strives even harder in the classroom and was named to the 2012 All-ACC Academic Team. The Guatemala City, Guatemala native was named to the last three ACC Honor Roll lists and was a 2010 ITA All-Academic Scholar-Athlete. In 2012, he won Florida State’s Golden Nole award for men’s tennis while also winning the 2011 Golden Torch award.

“Andres is very well-deserving of this post graduate scholarship,” said head coach Dwayne Hultquist. “He epitomizes what you want in a student-athlete, hard working on the court, disciplined off the court and sacrificial towards his teammates.”

In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, five student-athletes will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award. Two football players – North Carolina’s Jonathan Cooper and NC State’s Michael Glennon – along with Duke basketball player Ryan Kelly, Virginia swimmer Lauren Perdue, and Wake Forest golfer Evan Beck will be recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic performances.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is given in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC’s first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.

The 41 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 17, 2013, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro at the Four Seasons.


Related Articles