October 30, 2007 - by
Torch Lighting Set For Thursday To Honor ACC Champ CC Team

Oct. 30, 2007

Tallahassee, Fla. – In recognition of the school’s first ACC Cross Country title, the Florida State women’s team will be honored on Thursday (November 1) as the spear on the Unconquered Statue in front of Doak Campbell Stadium will be lit at approximately 7 p.m. Seminole fans are welcome to join head coach Bob Braman and the team as they celebrate last weekend’s victory.

Florida State easily won its first title, beating defending champion NC State by 38 points. Sophomore All-America Susan Kuijken (Nijmegen, Netherlands) won the women’s first individual title by over 13 seconds. She and Barbara Parker, who finished sixth, were both named to the All-ACC team. Next up for the Seminoles, who are ranked third in the country, is the NCAA South Regional Meet, November 10 in Gainesville.

Unconquered, a 31-foot high sculpture that depicts a spear-brandishing Seminole astride a rearing horse was designed by Fritz White to capture the indomitable spirit of the Seminole people and those who have adopted that spirit as a symbol for their university.

Since its 2003 dedication, the spear has been set ablaze at sunset before FSU home football games only and it burns until sunrise the morning after the game. The new policy means the spear will be lit when FSU wins an Atlantic Coast Conference team championship in any sport, or an NCAA individual championship in any sport. In addition, the spear would be lit the night an FSU team is selected for NCAA Championship competition and will burn for 24 hours. For any sport in which the NCAA does not select full teams (currently swimming and track and field), the spear will be lit if five or more Florida State individuals qualify to compete. For sports with preliminary and final rounds of NCAA championships, if the team advances to the final site (i.e.: Final Four, College Cup, College World Series), the spear will be lit again to recognize the achievement.

The spear may also be lit to recognize the winning of a “National Player of the Year” award in any sport (i.e. Heisman Trophy, Rhodes Scholarship). The new policy will also allow the spear to be lit on the night of graduations and convocations, along with other special occasions as approved by the President.

Related Articles