October 30, 2010 - by
Two ACC Championships!

By: Brandon Mellor, Seminoles.com

Oct. 30, 2010

Men’s Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader     Women’s Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

BOSTON, Mass. (SEMINOLES.COM) – Both Florida State men’s and women’s cross country teams ran away with a league title Saturday morning at the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass.

The women — who earned their remarkable fourth-straight ACC crown — posted a team score of 52, which was 23 points ahead of second-place Virginia.

The men’s 43-point effort was 38 points in front of second-place NC State and was enough to give the Seminoles the first-ever men’s conference championship in school history.

Rookie Jakub Zivec also garnered ACC Freshman of the Year honors, marking the second year in a row in which a Seminole earned that award.

“We have been second and third a whole bunch over the years,” men’s coach Bob Braman said. “We have been in the hunt most of the last 10 years and it is just so exciting for these guys that we were able to break through this year. We have been so close and I just have never felt better. I am not surprised we won but I am surprised at how much we won by.

“We hit an emotional high and just rode that to the end.”

Two seniors guided the men’s team as Matt Leeder finished the race in third place with a time of 23:42.2. Fellow veteran Ciaran O’Lionaird was not far off that pace with a fourth-place finish on a time of 23:43.6.

A trio of Seminoles next crossed the finish line a few seconds later as Zivec, David Forrester and Wes Rickman, who was last year’s ACC Freshman of the Year, all crossed the mark for 11th, 12th, and 13th place finishes, respectively. Zivec registered a time of 24:07.6, Forrester finished in 24:07.9 and Rickman completed the 8k in 24:09.5.

Alex Smyth came in 16th with a time of 24:12.9 while Mike Fout came in 22nd on a run of 24:23.0.

A 33 rd-place finish for Seth Proctor (24:49.7), 75th slot for Justin Harbor (25:55.5) and 96th-place finish for Nick Maedel (26:38.9) concluded the men’s team’s scoring.

“The seniors were seniors today,” Braman said with a laugh. “We knew we would be OK this year if the seniors ran well and they did that today. Leeder was the catalyst for us today and I know it was a good thing for the guys to see the team captain out front like that.

“The future is bright and it is nice to team up with the ladies and sweep the championships.”

On the women’s side, head coach Karen Harvey’s squad continued their dominance of the ACC by having two runners finish in the top five, four in the top 15 and six in the top 20.

“We challenged the team with a John Wooden quote this morning,” Harvey said after the race. “Coach Wooden said, `Winning takes talent; to repeat takes character.’ The ladies certainly did that by showing a lot of character out there.”

Senior Pasca Cheruiyot continued her terrific final season by posting a time of 20:05.4 in her second-place finish. FSU’s other senior captain, Pilar McShine then crossed the finish line at the 20:25.9 mark for a fifth-place finish.

Junior Astrid Leutert had her best performance as a Seminole in her 12th-place finish. Leutert registered a time of 20:44.2 and sophomore Jessica Parry wasn’t far behind with a time of 20:52.2 and a 15th-place race completion.

Another Seminole sophomore, Amanda Winslow was not too far off that pace as she achieved an 18th-place finish on a time of 20:56.4. Jennifer Dunn’s 21:03.3 mark propelled her to a 20th-place finish in the 6k event.

“Pasca fought really hard out there and Pilar had her best race of the season,” Harvey said. “Astrid did a great job of stepping up when Amanda got a cramp and was slowed down.”

Hannah Brooks (35th, 21:26.9), Andi Palen (42nd, 21:43.7) and Emily Ness (62nd, 22:17.9) rounded out the women’s team’s scoring.


Mens 8000 Meter Run Team Scores

1 Florida State 43

2 NC State 81

3 North Carolina 84

4 Virginia 92

5 Duke 93

6 Wake Forest

7 Virginia Tech 242

8 Maryland 244

9 Boston College 254

10 Clemson 267

11 Georgia Tech 271

12 Miami 357


Womens 6000 Meter Run Team Scores

1 Florida State 52

2 Virginia 75

3 Duke University 99

4 Boston College 100

5 North Carolina 123

6 NC State 37

7 Wake Forest 206

8 Virginia Tech 207

9 Clemson 208

10 Maryland 311

11 Georgia Tech 315

12 Miami 353

Related Articles