August 5, 2014 - by
Two Noles Earn Preseason Honors

TopDrawerSoccer’s Preseason Best XI

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – With kick-off to the 2014 soccer season just over two weeks away, a pair of Seminoles were recognized on’s Preseason Best XI. Dagny Brynjarsdottir earned first team accolades, while Kristin Grubka was honored on the third team.

Both Brynjarsdottir and Grubka are coming off impressive junior seasons where they guided Florida State to a third straight College Cup appearance and a berth in the nation finals in 2013.

The Icelandic native led the team and established single-season career-highs in points (33), goals (14), shots (74), shots on goal (37) and game-winning goals (7) en route to being named a second team All-American. She finished the year ranked nationally in total goals (37th) and total points (46th), while ranking in the top 10 in the ACC in four offensive categories. Brynjarsdottir’s seven game-winning goals tied for the second most in a single-season at FSU.

Grubka will look to continue FSU’s defensive dominance by patrolling the middle of the Seminole backline this fall. The Melbourne, Fla., native has appeared in every game for Florida State since setting foot on campus in 2011, while starting 63 straight matches. Last year, Grubka was one of just three Seminoles to start all 28 games as she tallied the third most minutes on the pitch recording 2,599. She was part of a backline that finished the season ranked in the top 25 nationally in GAA and shutout percentage.

Florida State hits the field Wednesday morning (August 6) for its first practice to officially open the 2014 season.

Here are the 2014 TDS women’s Division I preseason Best XI squads:

First Team
Goalkeeper: Sabrina D’Angelo (South Carolina)
Defenders: Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia), Abby Dahlkemper (UCLA), Jaelene Hinkle (Texas Tech)
Midfielders: Sarah Killion (UCLA), Morgan Brian (Virginia), Daphne Corboz (Georgetown), Dagny Brynjarsdottir (Florida State)
Forwards: Makenzy Doniak (Virginia), Savannah Jordan (Florida), Rachel Daly (St. John’s)

Second Team
Goalkeeper: Katelyn Rowland (UCLA)
Defenders: Christen Westphal (Florida), Caroline Dwyer (Penn), Jade Seabrook (Navy)
Midfielders: Cari Roccaro (Notre Dame), Sam Mewis (UCLA), Danielle Colaprico (Virginia), Havana Solaun (Florida)
Forwards: Margaret Purce (Harvard), Arin Gilliland (Kentucky), Jannelle Flaws (Illinois)

Third Team
Goalkeeper: Abby Smith (Texas)
Defenders: Taylor Leach (South Carolina), Kristin Grubka (Florida State), Emily Sonnett (Virginia)
Midfielders: Morgan Andrews (Notre Dame), Jessie Ayers (Colorado College), Ashley Meier (Virginia Tech), Rose Lavelle  Wisconsin)
Forwards: Hannah Wilkinson (Tennessee), Shea Groom (Texas A&M), Sofia Huerta (Santa Clara)

Freshmen Team
Goalkeeper: Darien Dunham (Boston College)
Defenders: Morgan Reid (Duke), Michaela Abam (West Virginia), Indigo Gibson (California)
Midfielders: Andi Sullivan (Stanford), Sofia Anker-Kofoed (Washington State), Carlyn Baldwin (Tennessee), Rachel Corboz (Georgetown)
Forwards: Megan Buckingham (North Carolina), Imani Dorsey (Duke), Jorian Baucom (LSU)


Related Articles