December 10, 2008 - by
Volleyball’s Price Earns All-Region Honorable Mention

Dec. 10, 2008

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Florida State volleyball’s Jordana Price became the first Seminole to earn AVCA All-Region honors since the 2006 season as announced by the American Volleyball Coaches Association on Wednesday, Dec. 10. The junior middle blocker earned an honorable mention nod for the east region.

“Jordana played very well in many of our toughest matches this season,” Florida State head coach Chris Poole said. “I’m looking forward to the spring and believe that she will continue to make a lot of improvement which is exciting for next fall.”

Price led the Noles in blocking with 113 total blocks on the season, 98 of which were block assists and 15 solo. She also finished the year averaging 1.09 blocks per set and ranked 76th in the nation with that number. The Mountain Home, Idaho, native set new career highs with 11 block assists in the 3-2 win over Wake Forest (Sept. 25) and three solo blocks at Boston College (Nov. 7).

At the close of Florida State’s 21-9 season, Price ranked third on the squad with a .301 attack percentage with 282 kills and a 2.71 kills per set average.

“We are fortunate that we had a lot of different players gain awards this season,” Poole said. “We have a lot to look forward to in the future.”

Of the 14 member AVCA All-East Region team, 12 of those were ACC student-athletes with Miami’s Lane Carico earning the All-East Region Freshman of the Year honor. The last Seminole to earn All-Region accolades was Makini Thompson who made the team in 2006.

AVCA All-East Region Team
Stephanie Barry, University of Delaware, DS/Lib., Jr.

Heather Brooks, University of North Carolina, MB, Jr.

Lane Carico, University of Miami, OH, Fr.

Kallie Corbin, Liberty University, S, Jr.

Brianna Eskola, University of North Carolina, DS/Lib., Jr.

Danielle Hepburn, Clemson University, MB, Sr.

Talisa Kellogg, Georgia Tech University, OH, Sr.

Callie Miller, Georgia Tech University, MB, Sr.

Rachael Moss, Duke University, OH, Jr.

Natalie Mullikin, Wake Forest University, MB, Sr.

Kelsey Murphy, Clemson University, S, Jr.

Jourdan Norman, Duke University, MB, Sr.

Lia Proctor, Clemson University, OH, Jr.

Felicia Willoughby, Virginia Tech, MB, So.

East Region Freshman of the Year: Lane Carico, Miami, OH

Honorable Mention: Kellie Catanach (Duke, S, Fr.); Lauren De Turk (Northeastern, OH, Sr.); Angelica Ellis (Miami, MB, Sr.); Chelaine McCarty (Liberty, MB, Jr.); Jordana Price (Florida State, MB, Jr.); Lauren Prussing (North Carolina, OH, Sr.); Shannon Sitzmann (Winthrop, OH, Sr.); Erin Skipper (William & Mary, OH, So.)

Related Articles