February 21, 2008 - by
Ward To Represent Florida State As Legend At 2008 ACC Basketball Tournament

Feb. 21, 2008

Two-sport standout Charlie Ward will represent Florida State University as its basketball legend at the 2008 ACC Basketball Tournament. Ward led the Seminole men’s basketball team to three NCAA tournament appearances including advancing to the Sweet 16 in 1992 and the Elite Eight in 1993. Ward earned the McKevlin Award as the ACC Athlete of the Year in both 1992 and 1993 and won the 1993 Heisman Trophy as he guided the Florida State football team to its first of two national championships.

Ward is still Florida State’s career steals leader with 238 while his eight steals against Wake Forest in 1992 are tied for the eighth-best effort ever in an ACC contest. He helped lead Florida State to final national Associated Press rankings of No. 20 in 1992 and No. 11 in 1993. He guided the Seminoles to the 1991 Metro Conference Championship and was a first-round selection by the New York Knicks in the 1994 NBA Draft. He played 11 seasons in the NBA with New York, Phoenix, San Antonio and Houston. He currently resides in Houston, Tex.

This year’s class of legends is led by a distinguished pair of coaches who are in the National College Basketball Hall of Fame and have combined for 1,665 victories between them, former North Carolina head coach Dean Smith and former Maryland head coach Charles “Lefty” Driesell. Joining Ward, Smith and Driesell will be NC State’s Lorenzo Charles (1982-85), Duke’s Mike Gminski (1977-80), Georgia Tech’s Kenny Anderson (1990-91), Wake Forest’s Len Chappell (1960-62), Boston College’s Bill Curley (1991-94), Clemson’s Elden Campbell (1987-90), Miami’s Tim James (1996-99), Virginia’s John Crotty (1988-91) and Virginia Tech’s Glen Combs (1966-68).

The legends will be honored at the 55th Annual ACC Tournament this March 13-16 in Charlotte, N.C. The group will be honored at the Annual ACC Legend’s Brunch, which will be held on Saturday, March 15 beginning at 10 a.m. The brunch will be hosted by television personalities Tim Brant and Mike Hogewood at the Grand Ballroom of the Westin Hotel. Tickets, priced at $35 each and tables of ten for $350, can be obtained by calling 1-704-688-8531.

The legends will also be presented to the ACC Tournament crowd at the Bobcats Arena at halftime of the first semifinal game on March 15, which will have a 1:30 pm tipoff.

Related Articles