February 17, 2014 - by
Winston and Andrews Capture All-ACC Academic Honors

Feb. 17, 2014


GREENSBORO, N.C. – Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston and all-conference freshman safety Nate Andrews were named to the 2013 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Football Team, announced Monday by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career. A student-athlete in graduate school must maintain a 3.5 grade point average. All 14 ACC schools were represented by at least two selections on the team. The ACC has selected an All-ACC Academic Football team every year since 1954.

Winston, a redshirt freshman, became the youngest winner of the prestigious Heisman Trophy, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate football player, and the first freshman to both win the Heisman and guide his team to the national championship. The Bessemer, Ala., native was also named the Walter Camp Player of the Year and winner of the Davey O’Brien and Manning Awards, which are presented to the nation’s top quarterback. He also continued an ACC and FSU tradition as each of the conference’s previous Heisman winners, Charlie Ward in 1993 and Chris Weinke in 2000, were also chosen to the All-ACC Academic football team.

Andrews led the Seminoles with four interceptions and made 35 tackles en route to All-ACC Third Team accolades and several Freshman All-America honors. The Fairhope, Ala., native played in all 14 games this season and was dominant against Wake Forest, tallying two interceptions, including a 56-yard pick-six, and forcing a fumble.

These honors are two more awards in a historic season for Florida State football. The Seminoles went 14-0 en route to their third national championship, defeating Auburn, 31-27, in the BCS National Championship Game in the Rose Bowl.

640x140 Season Tickets.jpeg

Related Articles