April 18, 2011 - by
17th Annual Golden Nole

April 18, 2011


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Once a year Florida State University student-athletes get together as an entire group and are honored for the contributions they make on the field, in the classroom and in the community. The 17th annual Golden Nole Awards banquet was held Monday night and was hosted by the Student Athlete Advisory Council (S.A.A.C.) to honor the contributions Florida State student-athletes make that often go unnoticed but are never unappreciated.


For the 10th consecutive year the women’s golf team captured the Director’s Cup for Service. Florida State’s athletic teams combined to provide almost 5,600 hours in service to the community with nine teams completing over 200 hours each. Women’s Cross Country and softball each exceeded the 650 hour mark.


Under the leadership of Athletics Director Randy Spetman, the senior staff and the office of student services, community service is a priority for the athletics department and FSU’s student-athlete population has embraced this as a priority in their lives as well.


“This is my favorite, favorite event. I know I say that every year but it’s true,” said FSU Director of Athletics Randy Spetman. “This banquet recognized the great job our student-athletes do in the community. The amount of hours FSU athletes give to this community is incredible. Having nine teams give more than 200 hours of their time and two teams give more than 650 hours is a credit to our coaches and the athletes themselves.”


In front of a crowd of more than 500 student-athletes, administrators and guests, student-athletes from each team were honored as chosen by the individual sport’s head coaches. Golden Nole honorees are chosen on a combination of factors which include athletic achievement, community service, attitude and dedication. Other special awards were also presented including the Doc Fauls Award, the ACC Top Six for Service, the Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship and the Athletic Director’s Cup for Service.


The excellence FSU’s student-athletes and athletic teams have displayed in the community this past year has been matched by their performance on the field. The Seminoles were fifth in the most recent Division I Learfield Sports Director’s Cup Standings released April 7. Last year Florida State finished fifth overall in the standings as every one of the school’s athletic programs participated in postseason play. FSU has finished in the top 15 in these standings that measure the overall success of the entire athletics program in each of the last four years.




The Golden Nole Award is presented to the person on each sport team who has exhibited the ideals of intercollegiate athletics. Head Coaches select these student-athletes by evaluating athletic and academic success as well as their contribution to service to the university and in the community.


Women’s Basketball    Christian Hunnicutt

                                                Courtney Ward

Men’s Basketball – Derwin Kitchen

Men’s Cross Country – Ciaran O’Lionard

Women’s Cross Country – Pilar McShine

Football – Dustin Hopkins

Soccer – Victoria Huster

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Robert Holderness

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Landon Marzullo

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Stephanie Sarandos

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Katherine Adham

Volleyball – Jenna Romanelli

Baseball – Seniors Parker Brunelle, Tye Buckley, Robby Stahl, Daniel Bennett, Mike McGee, Stuart

Tapley, Tyler Everett, Rafael Lopez, Robby Scott and Wil Breton

Men’s Golf – Drew Kittleson

Women’s Golf – Andrea Kaelin 

Softball – Ashley Stager

Men’s Tennis – Vahid Mirzadeh               

Women’s Tennis – Federica Suess

Men’s Track & Field – Maurice Mitchell

Men’s Track & Field – Ngoni Makusha

Women’s Track & Field – Amanda Winslow

Women’s Track & Field – Kim Williams



The Doc Fauls award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the senior Seminole Student-Athlete that has overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University.

As the Head Athletic Trainer at Florida State University from 1954-1986, Don “Doc” Fauls had the opportunity to touch the lives of many. He consistently treated each and everyone in an honest, professional manner and was always willing to take the time to help the athletes through the physical and emotional pain that often came with participation in intercollegiate athletics.


Robin Ahrberg – Softball

Ryan McMahon – Football



The Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship is given annually to an exceptional athletic training student. This scholarship is named for Jason Evans, who was an outstanding, first-year athletic training student, ranked #1 in his admission class. In the fall of 2006 he and his sister were tragically killed. This scholarship commemorates Jason and his family’s commitment and passion for athletic training at Florida State University.


Duncan Braltz – Graduate Student Trainer



The ACC Top Six for Service recipients were selected each month throughout the year for something unique that distinguished them as top performers in FSU’s community service program. The primary criteria includes a willingness to participate and a desire to serve despite time constraints. The selected students made significant contributions to the community and were positive ambassadors for the department.


Amanda Saxton – Women’s Volleyball

Ashley Stager – Women’s Softball

Margo Zwerling – Women’s Track & Field

Charles Clark – Men’s Track & Field

Dustin Hopkins – Football

James Ramsey – Baseball



Wanting to recognize the improved efforts of our athletic teams in terms of community service, a new award was added in 2010: The Most Improved Community “SemiGnome” Service Award, which goes to the team or teams that improved the most, in terms of community service hours, from the previous year.


Softball Team



The Athletic Director’s Cup for Service is our most prestigious award, and is presented annually to the team that contributes the most service hours to the community over the course of the entire year. The selection is made by measuring the total hours for the team and then dividing by the number of team members.


Women’s Golf (10th year in a row)

Related Articles