July 16, 2012 - by
2 More Watch Lists, 4 More Seminoles

July 16, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Preseason watch lists for college football’s biggest awards continue to roll out and Florida State has an equal mixture of repeat honorees and new faces included in announcements for the Butkus and Lombardi awards.

Brandon Mellor
Brandon Mellor
Seminoles.com Senior Writer
Follow me on Twitter

Christian Jones and Nick Moody have been featured for the first time this summer, as both Seminoles are on the watch list for Butkus Award — an honor that is given annually to the nation’s top linebacker — released Monday morning.

Defensive ends Brandon Jenkins (already on watch lists for the Bednarik Award and Bronco Nagurski Trophy) and Bjoern Werner (also on the Bronco Nagurski watch list), are now included on the watch list for the Rotary Lombardi Trophy as well. The Lombardi is annually awarded to the college lineman of the year.

Jones experienced a breakout sophomore season for the Seminoles — his first as the starting strong-side linebacker — as he registered a team third-best 56 total tackles. The Winter Park, Fla., native also added six tackles for loss and three sacks while starting every game for linebackers coach Greg Hudson.

Jones has since moved to his more natural weak-side linebacker spot in place of three-time season tackles leader Nigel Bradham.

Moody’s placement on the Butkus Award Watch List speaks volumes about the tremendous potential he has at what is a brand new position. A former safety, Moody spent four seasons (including one redshirt year) playing in the secondary.

FSU coaches elected to move Moody this off-season with the idea of maximizing the potential he had previously shown playing in the box and helping in run support while continuing to benefit from his experience as a pass defender.

As for Jenkins and Werner, the dynamic defensive-end duo enters the 2012 season as arguably college football’s best pass-rushing tandem.

Together the two combined for 23 tackles for loss and 15 sacks a season and those numbers have the chance to increase on a ‘Noles defense that is one of the country’s very best.

Announcements for the remaining watch lists will continue every day this week.

Remaining watch lists announcement schedule:

July 17

· Biletnikoff Award (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation)

July 18

· Davey O’Brien Award (Presented to the nation’s best quarterback by the Davey O’Brien Foundation)

July 19

· Doak Walker Award (Presented to the nation’s premier running back by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum).

July 20

· Walter Camp Award (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding player by the Walter Camp Football Foundation)

Related Articles