September 1, 2003 - by
2002 Golden Torch Gala

2002 Golden Torch Gala

/graphics/spacer.gif” width=5 height=4 border=0>
/graphics/spacer.gif” width=1 height=4 border=0>

On November 4th, 2002 FSU hosted the 12th annual Golden Torch Gala. The Athletic Department, along with the Seminole Boosters, sponsor the black-tie affair which will took place in the Tom & Ginny Futch Ballroom of the University Center Club in the FSU stadium.

The Golden Torch Galais one of the few ceremonies of its kind, celebrating the academic honors of FSU student athletes. Ryan Lowery from Men’s Basketball was the Overall Male Golden Torch Award Winner, with a perfect 4.000 grade point average for the 2001-2002 academic year. Margaret Colley, from Women’s Swimming & Diving, was the Overall Female Golden Torch Award Winner. She also maintained a 4.00 grade point average for the 2001-2002 academic year. For the sixth year in a row, The Women’s Tennis Team received the Women’s Team Golden Torch Award for having the highest grade point average (3.686) of any of our Lady Seminole Teams. The Men’s Team Golden Torch Award went to Men’s Cross Country for the third year in a row. They had a team grade point average of 3.003 last year. The student athletes on each team with the highest grade point averages received the Individual Golden Torch Awards. They are as follows:

SportStudent AthleteMajorCoach
BaseballBlair McCalebSports ManagementMike Martin
BasketballLinnea LiljestrandBusinessSue Semrau
Ryan LoweryAccountingLeonard Hamilton
Cross CountrySuzanne ShepardMechanical EngineeringBob Braman
Dave GuerraAthletic Administration (M.S.)
FootballBrett CimorelliFinanceBobby Bowden
GolfAlison CurdtPsychology & Professional Golf Mgmt.Debbie Dillman
Andrew LewisSports ManagementNicky Goetz
SoccerJennifer GarciaCommunication DisordersPatrick Baker
SoftballElizabeth WadeExercise ScienceDr. JoAnne Graf
Swim/DiveMargaret ColleyAccountingNeil Harper
Jonathan KaplanSports Management
TennisAnca DumitrescuMedia CommunicationLise Gregory
Romain JurdPublic RelationsDwayne Hultquist
TrackKaren RademeyerEnglish EducationTerry Long
Greg GorskiMarketing
VolleyballJennifer AndersonEnglish EducationTodd Kress

The 2002 ACC Honor Roll Student Athletes were also recognized at the Gala. FSU set a school record in 2002 with 188 ACC Honor Roll members. In addition, 15 out of our 17 sports were ranked 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in the Atlantic Coast Conference for the number of ACC Honor Roll members. FSU also set school records for number of student athletes graduating in December (47) and number of Football student athletes graduating in December (15).

John Swofford, Commissioner of the ACC, was the Keynote Speaker for the evening. Talbot D’Alemberte – President of Florida State University, Dave Hart, Jr. – Director of Athletics, Andy Miller – President of Seminole Boosters, Dr. Sandra Rackley, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Mark Meleney – Director of Athletic Academic Support, and head coaches from all sports, were in attendance.

Related Articles