April 12, 2003 - by
2003 Spring Game Brings Spring Practice To A Close

April 12, 2003

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. Junior quarterback Chris Rix competed five of 12 passes for 76 yards, sophomore wide receiver Craphonso Thorpe caught for passes for 66 yards and freshman Leon Washington rushed for 65 yards and one touchdown on 10 carries as the Florida State football team held its annual spring game Saturday at Doak Campbell Stadium. The offensive teams defeated the defensive teams, 37-11, highlighted by two touchdowns and strong first-down drives during the game. The defensive teams earned points on defensive stops, quarterback sacks and forcing the offense into punting situations.

“The format we used today is just like a normal scrimmage we have used during spring practice,” head coach Bobby Bowden said. “We just didn’t have the numbers to play a real game. I think we had two centers, three guards and three tackles available on offense and one of them got hurt. We just didn’t have two teams to field, but I think our fans got to see what they came for. They saw us make some good plays on both sides of the ball.”

Rix led a quartet of Seminole quarterbacks who completed 26 passes for 193 yards, one touchdown and zero interceptions. Freshman Waytt Sexton had the best completion rate of the group as he completed five of seven passes for 50 yards. Freshman Lorne Sam completed three of five passes for 64 yards and one touchdown and Fabian Walker completed one of two for three yards.

“Chris (Rix) is doing much better at making decisions,” Bowden said. “He can still get better, but he has made a lot of progress. He is seeing things out there that a redshirt junior is supposed to see.”

Washington led the running back corps that totaled 104 yards on 29 carries. Junior Ryan Reynolds who gained 25 yards on six carries and scored one of two touchdowns for the offense followed Washington. Rix gained 23 yards on three carries and junior Marlon Napier gained 16 yards on four carries.

Thorpe and junior Dominic Robinson were the top receivers during the game. Thorpe led the offense with 66 yards on four catches and was followed by Robinson who caught three oases for 63 yards. Sophomore tight end Matt Henshaw caught one pass for 19 yards and junior wide receiver P.K. Sam caught two passes for 19 yards. Junior wide receiver Chauncey Stovall had one catch for 12 yards and the games’ only receiving touchdown.

“Our receivers caught the ball well all spring,” Bowden said. “We did the same drills as we always do, but for some reason they just caught the ball a lot better. Dominic Robinson has really come along. He has gotten better and better and not only that, he is a good leader out there.”

Freshman linebacker Buster Davis was the defensive standout with four tackles including three quarterback sacks. Sophomore defensive end Kamerion Wimbley had four tackles and two quarterback sacks while junior linebacker Ray Piquion also added four tackles. Junior cornerback Bryant McFadden led a host of players with three tackles each and led the defense with two passes broken up.

“The young linebackers had a great spring as well,” Bowden said. “(Sam) McGrew and (A.J.) Nicholson have stood out all spring and Buster Davis had a great game. They’ve looked good the whole time.”

Passing: Chris Rix (5-12, 76 yards, 0TD, 0 INT), Wyatt Sexton (5-7, 50 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT), Lorne Sam (3-5, 64 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT), Fabian Walker (1-2, 3 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT).
Rushing: Leon Washington (10-65, 1 TD), Ryan Reynolds (6-25, 1 TD), Chris Rix (3-23), Marlon Napier (2-16), Lorne Sam (1-4), B.J. Dean (2-3), Willie Reid (1-0), Fabian Walker (1- -10), Steven Meseroll (3- -22).
Receiving: Craphonso Thorpe (4-66), Dominic Robinson (3-63), Matt Henshaw (1-24), P.K. Sam (2-19), Chauncey Stovall (1-12, 1 TD), Joey Kaleikini (1-4), James Coleman (1-3), Marlon Napier (1-2).
Tackles: Buster Davis (4TT, 3 QBS), Kamerion Wimbley (4TT, 2 QBS), Ray Piquion (4TT), Bryant McFadden (3TT, 2 PBU), Kyler Hall (3TT, 1 PBU), A.J. Nicholson (3TT), Kasey Anderson (3TT), Pat Watkins (3TT), Gerard Ross (3TT), Eric Moore (2TT), Allen Augustin (2TT), Jerome Carter (2TT), Leroy Smith (1TT), Marcello Church (1TT), Rufus Brown (1TT), Sam McGrew (1TT), Brodrick Bubkley (1TT), Anthony Bredwood (1TT), Gordy Reid (1TT, 1PBU), Roger Williams (1TT).

Hinesman Award (Most Dominate Player Chris Rix
Most Valuable Offensive Player David Castillo
Most Valuable Defensive Player Chauncy Davis

Award Most Improved Most Dependable
Quarterback: Chris Rix, N/A
Receiver: Chauncey Stovall, P.K. Sam
Offensive Line: Matt Meinrod, David Castillo
Running Back: James Coleman, B.J. Dean
Tight End: Donnie Carter, Paul Irons

DEFENSE AWARDS Award Most Improved Most Dependable Linebackers: Sam McGrew, Allen Augustin Defensive Backs: Pat Watkins, Kyler Hall Defensive Line: Charles Howard, Brian Ross Defensive Ends: Kamerion Wimbley, Kevin Emanuel

GENERAL AWARDS Award Offense Defense King of the Boards: Matt Meinrod, Eric Moore Top Non Scholarship Player: James Coleman, Brian Ross Most Outstanding Player: David Castillo, Kevin Emanuel, Charles Howard Big Otis Award: N/A, A.J. Nicholson Second Effort Award: Eric Broe, Ray Piquion Top Newcomer: Lorenzo Booker, Chauncey Davis Big Hitter: James Coleman, Sam McGrew Iron Nole Award: Paul Irons, Leroy Smith Leadership: Dominic Robinson, Jerome Carter Most Committed To Physical Development: Dominic Robinson, Kamerion Wimbley
Related Articles