June 21, 2012 - by
Academic All-American Trio

June 21, 2012

By Bob Thomas, Seminoles.com

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s excellence in both cross country and track & field is well-established on the national stage, and so too, is its success in the classroom. Seminoles Hannah Brooks, Gonzalo Barroilhet and Michelle Jenije, each of whom earned All-American honors for their athletic performances this year, were selected Thursday to the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America Team.

Their honors continue an impressive run of academic excellence from within the FSU track & field and cross country programs. Since the start of the 2005-06 academic year, Florida State student-athletes, across all sports, have claimed 31 CoSIDA Academic All-America honors. Of that total, 19 have represented the track & field and cross country programs.

“If you’ve got three you’re right there at the top programs nationally,” Florida State coach Bob Braman said. “This honor is one we look forward to every year because we are one of the top schools cumulatively over the last six-seven-eight years in terms of number of honorees and we do it every year. That’s something we take really take high pride in from entire staff and really speaks well of the support services at Florida State.”

Brooks, who completed her master’s degree in sports psychology this spring with a cumulative 4.00 GPA, was a first-team selection to the Division I Women’s Cross Country and Track squad. The Caterham, Great Britain native was the ACC Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year this past fall, after earning All-American, NCAA South Region and All-ACC honors. Brooks helped lead the Seminoles to ACC and South Region titles, and a fourth place NCAA Championship finish. She followed up by earning first-team All-American honors at the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships in the mile, after helping the ‘Noles set a new ACC Championship meet record in the distance medley relay. This past spring she won the ACC Outdoor Championship 5,000-meter title and advance to the NCAA Championship in the 1500-meter run.

“Hannah is one of the most brilliant student-athletes we’ve ever had,” Braman said. “You’re talking about somebody that was taking four grad school courses each semester, while she was in season and continued to knock out straight A’s. … Every semester she was in season, whether it was cross country or track. That’s really extraordinary. We’re really, really proud of her for setting that bar, which clearly was the best in the nation.”

Barroilhet was honored with a CoSIDA Academic All-America selection for the third time in his distinguished Seminole career. Currently completing his MBA requirements, the native of Santiago, Chile boasts a 3.85GPA. A second-team CoSIDA selection to the Men’s Track and Cross Country squad, he earned first-team All-American honors earlier this month when he placed fourth at the NCAA Championship in the decathlon. Barroilhet set an ACC Championship meet record when he won the decathlon title with 8,065 points – improving his own school record – which came on the heels of an indoor season highlighted by his ACC title in the pole vault. FSU captured the ACC Indoor Championship team title. He will represent Chile in the 2012 London Olympic Games in the decathlon, after also competing in the 2008 Games.

“You’re speaking of somebody in an MBA program making virtually straight A’s while competing in a demanding event,” Braman said of Barroilhet. “You’re talking about the decathlon, which takes probably the minimum of four hours a day and probably five or six hours in preparation for 10 events. He’s about as good a student-athlete that you’ll ever get and obviously incredibly driven that’s going to be extraordinarily successful in life.”

Jenije capped a mercurial senior season with her third-team selection to the CoSIDA Women’s Track and Cross Country squad. A spring graduate with a degree in international affairs, the Tallahassee native produced an impressive 3.73 GPA. She was no less impressive while competing in her specialty – the triple jump – earning first-team All-American honors both indoors, when she placed second, and outdoors with her fifth-place finish. Jenije also won the ACC Outdoor championship for the first time in her career; one of four gold medal finishes in seven meets this past spring.

“It was just an unbelievable senior year,” Braman said. She earns All-American honors, was an NCAA runner-up. “It’s the local girl makes good, and oh, by the way, here’s an Academic All-America honor. It’s a storybook season for her and an unbelievable career for a hometown girl. North Florida Christian should be proud today because one of theirs is an Academic All-American. It’s just a neat story when one of our own hits it out of the park in the classroom and out of the park on the track.”

Not surprisingly, all three Seminole honors served as co-captains this past outdoor season; a testament to their leadership skills and an example to those around them.

“You couldn’t get better leaders because they do it all on and off the field,” Braman said. “Losing three co-captains who have achieved this much, someone is going to have to step up and lead. Historically, we’ve done that. … We’ve just been blessed. We get leaders year-in and year-out that step up and have had the example in front of them.”

All-Time FSU Track/Cross Country CoSIDA Academic All-Americans

1985 – Wendy Markham (first-team)

2005 – Garrett Johnson (second-team)

2005 – Tom Lancashire (second-team)

2006 – Javier Garcia-Tunon (first-team)

2006 – Garrett Johnson (first-team)

2006 – Tom Lancashire (first-team)

2006 – Lacy Janson (first-team)

2007 – Javier Garcia-Tunon (second-team)

2007 – Tom Lancashire (second-team)

2008 – Javier Garcia-Tunon (first-team)

2009 – Gonzalo Barroilhet (second-team)

2009 – Javier Garcia-Tunon (first-team)

2009 – Susan Kuijken (first-team)

2010 – Gonzalo Barroilhet (first-team)

2010 – Kimberly Williams (first-team)

2011 – Ciaran O’Lionaird (third-team)

2011 – Kimberly Williams (first-team)

2012 – Hannah Brooks (first-team)

2012 – Gonzalo Barroilhet (second-team)

2012 – Michelle Jenije (third-team)

Related Articles