February 16, 2016 - by
ACC Championship Bound

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State swimming and diving teams are primed and ready for an eight-day battle at the 2016 ACC Championships starting on Wednesday at 4 p.m. at the Greensboro Aquatic Center.

The first portion of the meet will run Feb. 17-20 and will host women’s swimming as well as both men’s and women’s diving. The second half will entail men’s swimming, running from Feb. 24-27. This will be the 25th ACC meet for both teams as the Seminoles first competed in the event in 1992.

“It’s the time of year we’ve all been waiting for,” FSU head coach Frank Bradley said. “Our ladies will set the tone and this team has battled through a lot of adversity over the season. We competed against some of the best throughout the season, and now it’s time to step up and leave it all in the pool.”

The Seminoles return 10 athletes to the ACC Championship stage, including seniors Sami Pochowksi, Madison Jacobi, Bianca Spinazzola and Josie Cuda.

“We’re depending on our seniors to lead us through this week,” Bradley said. “We have a young team and these ladies have been to this meet and they’ve competed at NCAA’s. They know what it takes to get on that next level and have success and I’m expecting them to come out and get this team going.”

Wednesday’s session will begin at 10 a.m. and will feature women’s 1-meter diving prelims. Swimming will start at 4 p.m. and will contain the 200 medley relay and 800 free relay.

Sophomores Cameron Johnson, Tyler Roberge along with junior Dylan Grisell and senior Kalonji Cole will compete in prelims of 3-meter diving at 2 p.m. Both men’s and women’s diving finals will take place in between relays on Wednesday.

“That first session is so important,” Bradley said. “Those relays set the tone and diving set the tone. It’s important to get it going right out of the gate.”

The individual events will start on Thursday and will conclude on Saturday. Thursday, Friday and Saturday’s finals will be available on ESPN3.

For more information on FSU swimming and diving, visit Facebook, Twitter (@FSU_Swimming) and Instagram (@Fsuswimdive).

The 2016 Women’s ACC Team
Ariel Barber             So.     Free/Back      Meadowbrook, Pa.
Meg Brown              Fr.      IM/Fly/Back   Chelmsford, Mass.
Josie Cuda              Sr.      Free             Bluffton, S.C.
Summer Finke         Fr.      Free/IM         Clearwater, Fla.
Cassidy Gebhart     Fr.      Diving           Spring, Texas
McKenna Harris      So.     Breast           St. Petersburgh, Fla.
Madison Jacobi       Sr.      Free              Acworth, Ga.
Leila Johnston         Fr.       Fly/Free          Bar Harbor, Maine
Blair Mulka               So.      Diving            Wellington, Fla.
Caroline Neil            Jr.       Breast/IM        Winston-Salem, N.C.
Natalie Pierce          So.      Breast            Birmingham, Mich.
Sami Pochowski      Sr.      Breast/Free      Muskego, Wisc.
Natalie Purnell         Fr.      Breast           Manassas, Va.
Fabiana Ingram        Fr.      Free/Back      Wellington, Fla.
Brenna Ruth             So.     Free             Boca Raton, Fla.
Alexi Smith                So.     Free             Lawrenceville, Ga.
Bianca Spinazzola   Sr.     Back/FLy       Narragansett, R.I.
Katy Stringfield         JR.      Free             Waynesville, N.C.
Lydia Ware               Jr.      Free             Jacksonville, Fla.

Men’s Diving
Kalonji Cole              Sr.      Diving          Tallahassee, Fla.
Dylan Grisell             Jr.      Diving           Toronto, Ont.
Cameron Johnson  So.     Diving        Indian Harbor Beach, Fla.
Tyler Roberge          So.     Diving           Edmonton, Alb.


The ACC Championships – A Brief History

Heading into its 25th ACC Championship meet, Florida State took home its only title back in 2006. FSU has placed within the top three as a team 11 times, while capturing titles in 47 individual events on top of 17 relay victories.

Under Frank Bradley, the Seminoles finished third in 2014 and seventh in 2015, taking home two individual titles by ways of former Seminoles Tiffany Oliver, while coaching five individuals to All-ACC honors.

The Seminoles have had an individual champion at every meet since 2012, including former standout Katrina Young, who currently holds the ACC Meet record score on platform at 364.70.

Related Articles