April 22, 2014 - by
ACC Opponents Announced For Seminole Basketball

April 22, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Florida State, the third winningest basketball program in the ACC in the last nine seasons, will play host to Duke, Louisville and Pittsburgh at the Donald L. Tucker in 2015 as the most challenging ACC schedule in history was announced by the ACC. In addition to Duke (the fourth all-time winningest program in NCAA history), Louisville (the 11th all-time winningest in NCAA history) and Pittsburgh, the Seminoles will play host to 2014 NCAA Tournament participant NC State as they play an 18-game conference schedule for the third consecutive season.

Louisville, which won the 2013 NCAA championship, will play in Tallahassee for the first time since January 12, 1991 when the Seminoles and the Cardinals were members of the Metro Conference.

The Seminoles will face each of the 14 teams in the ACC (Louisville’s addition brings the ACC’s total to 15) at least once with two games each coming against NCAA Tournament participant Pittsburgh, NIT Final Four participant Clemson, Miami and Virginia Tech in home-and-home series against those four teams.

Florida State will play nine home games at the Tucker Center against Boston College, Duke, Clemson, Louisville, Miami, NC State, Pittsburgh, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest. The Blue Devils, Tigers, Cardinals, Wolfpack and Panthers all earned upper division ACC finishes with five of the eight making postseason appearances during the 2013-14 season.

The addition of Louisville to the ACC has made the ACC the greatest collection of teams in one conference in the history of college basketball with five of the top 12 and seven of the top 45 winningest programs in the history of college basketball now calling the ACC home. In addition, six of the most recent 14 NCAA Division I champions, four of the nine teams who have played in multiple NCAA Championship games, and three of the top six schools with the most Final Four appearances are now members of the ACC – with each of those teams play in Tallahassee at least once over the course of the next two seasons.

Florida State will play ACC road games at Clemson (NIT), at Georgia Tech, at Miami, at North Carolina (NCAA Tournament), at Notre Dame, at Syracuse (NCAA Tournament, at Virginia (NCAA Tournament, Defending ACC Champions), at Pittsburgh (NCAA Tournament) and at Virginia Tech.

Florida State will look to return to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time in the last seven seasons as it returns four of its top six scorers including All-American candidate Aaron Thomas. Thomas averaged a team leading and career-high 14.5 points scored per game and earned All-ACC Honorable Mention honors as a sophomore.

Season ticket information will be available on seminoles.com in the coming weeks.

Florida State: 2014-15
Home/Road:    Miami, Clemson, Virginia Tech, Pittsburgh
Home:         Duke, Wake Forest, NC State, Louisville, Boston College
Road:         Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Virginia, Syracuse, Notre Dame

Florida State 2015-16
Home/Road:    Miami, Clemson, NC State, Syracuse
Home:         Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Virginia, Pittsburgh, Notre Dame
Road:         Duke, Wake Forest, Virginia Tech, Louisville, Boston College
Related Articles