July 9, 2014 - by
Aguayo Headlines Lou Groza Award Watch List

July 9, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Reigning Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Winner Roberto Aguayo headlined the Groza Preseason Watch List released by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission on Wednesday.

The redshirt sophomore from Mascotte, Fla., is looking to join fellow Seminole Sebastion Janikowski as the only two-time winners of the Groza Award. Janikowski won the award in 1998 and 1999.

Aguayo had one of the most prolific kicking seasons in FSU, ACC and college football history in 2013. In addition to capturing the Groza Award, he collected several All-America and All-ACC accolades while breaking the national record for points by a kicker (157). Aguayo went 94-of-94 on extra point attempts to set the NCAA record for most extra points made in a season without a miss and converted 21 of 22 field goal attempts. He outscored eight of Florida State’s 14 opponents by himself.

Aguayo is the ninth Seminole to be named to a National College Football Awards Association Watch List this week. He joins senior center Austin Barron (Rimington) and senior tight end Nick O’Leary (Mackey) who snagged honors on Tuesday, and redshirt sophomore quarterback Jameis Winston (Maxwell), senior wide receiver Rashad Greene (Maxwell), senior running back Karlos Williams (Maxwell), junior defensive end Mario Edwards Jr. (Bednarik), junior corner back P.J. Williams (Bednarik) and sophomore kick returner/wide receiver Kermit Whitfield (Hornung) who all collected accolades on Monday.

Related Articles