February 5, 2016 - by
Aguayo, Ramsey Shine at All-Star Football Challenge

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Former Florida State All-Americans Roberto Aguayo and Jalen Ramsey outperformed the competition winning their respective event at the 2016 Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge. The event, held at AT&T Stadium in Dallas, Texas on February 2, is an exciting skills competition featuring some of college football’s brightest stars.

Aguayo won the Speed Kick competition with 323 points defeating UCLA’s Ka’imi Fairbairn (278 points) and Georgia’s Marshall Morgan (220 points).  The Mascotte, Fla., native posted a perfect score connecting on all seven kicks inside a minute. Aguayo converted a pair of field goals from 40, 45 and 50 yards and his final kick from 53 yards out.

Aguayo, Ramsey Shine at All-Star Football Challenge

Ramsey displayed his speed and agility to capture the PlayStation Hands Competition completing the event with a time of 27.4 seconds. The Smyrna, Tenn., native edged Baylor wide receiver Corey Coleman, who finished the event in 27.6 seconds. Notre Dame wide receiver Will Fuller finished third with a time of 30.3 seconds.

The challenge, which is now its 18th season of existence, will have encore airings on ESPNU at 12:30 a.m. ET and 9 a.m. ET on February 6. ESPN will also air an encore at 5 p.m. ET on April 9, and ESPN2 will air an encore at 7 p.m. on April 25.

2016 Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge Results:
Speed Kick
1. Roberto Aguayo – Florida State (323 points)
2. Ka’imi Fairbairn – UCLA (278 points)
3. Marshall Morgan – Georgia (220 points)

PlayStation Hands Competition
1. Jalen Ramsey – DB – Florida State (27.4 seconds)
2. Corey Coleman – WR – Baylor (27.6 seconds)
3. Will Fuller – WR – Notre Dame (30.3 seconds)

Quicken Loans QB Accuracy Competition
1. Brandon Doughty – Western Kentucky (226 points)*
2. Cody Kessler – Southern California (226 points)
3. Cardale Jones – Ohio State (188 points)
*Won long distance throw to break tie

Mercedes-Benz Lineman Strength Challenge
1. Kevin Dodd – DE – Clemson (26.8 seconds)
2. Shaq Lawson – DE – Clemson (28.7 seconds)
3. A’Shawn Robinson – DT – Alabama (32.7 seconds)

Marines Obstacle Course
1. Alex Collins – RB – Arkansas (30.9 seconds)
2. Darron Lee – LB – Ohio State (32.6 seconds)
3. Reggie Ragland – ILB – Alabama (34.2 seconds)

Alumni of the All-Star Football Challenge include three Heisman Trophy winners (Ron Dayne, Troy Smith and Jason White), 60 first-round NFL draft picks and 29 Pro Bowlers, such as: Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Matt Ryan, Jamaal Charles, Greg Olsen, Dez Bryant, Von Miller, Vernon Davis, Joe Flacco, Donovan McNabb and Edgerrin James.

For more information on the 2016 Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge, like our Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/AllStarFootball) and follow us on Twitter (@AllStarFBall) and Instagram (@AllStarFball). 

Related Articles