July 25, 2018
Aguayo, Tyler Named to Preseason Watch Lists

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State specialists Ricky Aguayo and Logan Tyler were both named to preseason watch lists Wednesday, being recognized by the Lou Groza (Aguayo) and Ray Guy (Tyler) Awards, given to the nation’s top placekicker and punter, respectively.

Aguayo connected on 18-of-21 field goals as a sophomore, including a career long of 51 yards in the win at Wake Forest. The Mascotte, Florida, native converted 42 PATs and tallied 96 total points and was named honorable mention All-ACC in 2017. Aguayo led the ACC with an .857 field goal percentage and tied for fifth in the league in scoring. His brother, Roberto was the last Florida State player to capture the award as the nation’s top placekicker in 2013. He was the third Seminole in history to win the honor, joining Sebastian Janikowski (1998 and 1999) and Graham Gano (2008).

Tuesday, Aguayo was named to the All-ACC preseason team as the league’s top kicker.

Tyler was one of the top punters in the ACC in 2017, finishing fourth in the league with a total of 2,849 yards on 66 punts for an average of 43.2 yards per punt. The Nixa, Missouri, native also added a career-long 61-yard punt in the win at Duke and registered 19 boots of 50 yards or more as a sophomore.  He was crucial in the field position battle for the Seminoles all season, pinning 22 punts inside the 20-yard line.

Both awards will be announced December 6 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

2018 Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Defensive POY) – Brian Burns
Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) – Cam Akers & Deondre Francois
Doak Walker (Running Back) – Cam Akers & Jacques Patrick
Good Works Team – Fredrick Jones
Rimington (Center) – Alec Eberle
Outland (Interior Lineman) – Alec Eberle
Groza (Kicker) – Ricky Aguayo
Ray Guy (Punter) – Logan Tyler

July 26 – Hornung (Versatile) & Wuerffel (Community Service)
July 27 – Walter Camp (Player of the Year)

Related Articles