November 23, 2004 - by
Alex Barron Named Outland Trophy Finalist

Nov. 23, 2004

Florida State senior offensive tackle Alex Barron has been named one of three finalists for the 2004 Outland Award, given annually to college football’s top interior lineman. The other two finalists are Oklahoma offensive tackle Jamaal Brown and Michigan center David Baas.

“To be named an Outland finalist is a great honor,” said Barron. “Just to be mentioned along with two great players like Jamaal and David is a great feeling. When you look back at some of the past Outland winners, you see the names of some of the best to ever play the game of football. That’s what makes it such a prestigious award.”

The Football Writers Association of America has annually selected the winner of the award since 1946. It is the third-oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

Barron, a consensus All-American in 2003, has put together an excellent senior season. He has allowed just one sack during the 11-game regular season, did not grade out below 87% in a single game, and had an average season grade of 91%. Barron is considered to be the top offensive line prospect for the 2005 NFL Draft.

The Outland Trophy winner will be announced on Dec. 9 at the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. The official award presentation will be Jan. 13 in Omaha, Neb., at a banquet sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee and First Data.

Florida State has had two Outland finalists and Michigan one since 1987, when three finalists were first named. Oklahoma has never had a finalist, other than its four previous winners. Neither Michigan nor Florida State, despite their storied pasts in college football, has had an Outland Trophy winner.

Oklahoma has had four Outland Trophy winners – the most recent one was Greg Roberts in 1978. Other Oklahoma Outland Trophy winners are Lee Roy Selmon (1975), J.D. Roberts (1953) and Jim Weatherall (1951).

Nebraska leads all schools with seven different Outland Trophy winners, including the only two-time winner, center Dave Rimington (1981 and 1982).

Last year’s winner, Iowa offensive tackle Robert Gallery, was picked second overall in the 2004 NFL Draft by the Oakland Raiders.

Related Articles