April 13, 2010 - by
All-ACC Academic Swimming & Diving Teams

April 13, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C.— Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Tuesday the student-athletes named to the ACC Men’s and Women’s Swimming & Diving All-ACC Academic teams and Florida State was well-represented with a total of 12 honorees.


“The ACC All-Academic team is a huge honor for all of our athletes at Florida State,” FSU head coach Neil Harper said.  “Obviously for our swim team, we feel we’re some of the most dedicated student-athletes on campus because of the hours we put in.  For these kids to excel in the classroom at the same time really says a lot about their dedication in and out of the pool.  They performed well on the boards and in the pool but obviously in the classroom, they’ve got serious majors and serious academic curriculums so I’m just excited for them.  It means that they’re organized, that their time-management is good and it just sets a good example for the rest of the team.  I’m just proud of these individuals.”


Candidates for scholar-athlete of the year must have maintained a grade-point-average of 3.0 for each of the last two semesters and for their careers, while All-ACC Academic team members must have earned a 3.0 GPA for the fall semester and maintained a 3.0 for the careers, with selection based on athletic merit.


On the women’s side, Florida State ranked second among all ACC teams with eight selections. Seniors Aleia Monden and Katie Sirounis, along with junior Katherine Adham, are all two-time honorees and members of the 2010 All-ACC team.


Four Seminoles appear on the men’s list highlighted by two-time honoree junior Robby Hayes.  Junior Rob Holderness, a 2010 All-ACC team member, also earned the academic distinction for the first time in his career.


For the complete ACC releases, please see the following links: http://www.theacc.com/sports/c-swim/spec-rel/041310aad.html




FSU women’s team honorees:

Katherine Adham @^    Jr.      Management/Marketing

Marissa Harrington         Fr.      Business

Holly Mills                          Jr.       History  

Aleia Monden @^           Sr.      Exercise Science

Kristine Polley                  Fr.     Exercise Science  

Jaq Schroeder                   Sr.     Criminology

Katie Sirounis @^            Sr.     Marketing/Management

Stevi Steinhauer              Sr.     Sport Management


FSU men’s team honorees:

Robby Hayes @      Jr.    Finance

Rob Holderness ^  Jr.    Finance

Glenn Kalata           Sr.    Accounting     

Nick Klein                Fr.    Political Science      


@ denotes two-time honoree

^ denotes 2010 All-ACC team member


Related Articles