May 13, 2011 - by
All-ACC For Three

May 13, 2011

Follow the FSU Softball Team on Twitter: @fsu_softball

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Three Florida State University softball student-athletes in Sarah Hamilton (pitcher), Jen Lapicki (first baseman) and Shayla Jackson (outfielder) represented the Seminoles on the 2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Team, announced today by the ACC.

The trio was three of 20 student-athletes chosen, with 10 being placed on the first and second team. Since expanding to the two team format in 2005, FSU softball has had multiple All-ACC selections each season.

Hamilton’s selection marks the third All-ACC honor of her career, as she was a first-team recipient in 2009 and a second-team honoree her previous two seasons. Only one other member on the current All-ACC Team, conference player of the year Kelsi Weseman of Georgia Tech, has claimed an all-conference honor at least three times.

Hamilton, a Tallahassee native, had another strong season in ACC play. She finished 7-6 with a 2.42 ERA and struck out 95 in 79.2 innings pitched while holding the opposition to a .214 batting average. Her accomplishments within the conference include tossing sixth career no-hitter on April 9 in a victory over Virginia in five innings. She also had three double-digit strikeout performances against Virginia Tech, Virginia and Boston College, and won ACC Pitcher of the Week three times.

Jackson, a right fielder from Pembroke Pines, Fla., was consistent yet again in the 2011 regular season. She hit .345 overall, and batted an impressive .324 in conference play. She received her first ACC Player of the Week honor when she exploded in a two-game set against Boston College on April 16, going 7-for-8 with eight RBIs that included a grand slam and a double. The All-ACC selection is the first for the .334 career hitter.

Lapicki, who played both catcher and first base in the regular season, was chosen as a first baseman to mark her first All-ACC Team selection. In conference action, the Oldwick, N.J., native batted .315 and recorded a .519 slugging percentage in 20 games. Overall, she is hitting .342 with six home runs and 29 RBIs while leading the Seminoles with a .443 on-base percentage.

Senior right-hander Kerry Hickey of Maryland was named the ACC Pitcher of the Year, while outfielder Tory Speer of Boston College was recognized as the conference’s freshman of the year. Sharon Perkins of Georgia Tech earned ACC Coach of the Year.


First Team Name (Position, School)

Tory Speer (OF, Boston College)

Kristen Adkins # (P, Georgia Tech)

Caitlin Jordan (DP, Georgia Tech)

Alysha Rudnik (C/3B, Georgia Tech)

Kelsi Weseman % (SS, Georgia Tech)

Vangie Galindo (OF, Maryland)

Kerry Hickey # (P, Maryland)

Haleigh Dickey (1B, North Carolina)

Lori Spingola (1B, North Carolina)

Courtney Liddle (1B, Virginia Tech)

Second Team Name (Position, School)

Sarah Hamilton % (P, Florida State)

Shayla Jackson (RF, Florida State)

Jen Lapicki (1B, Florida State)

Christy Jones # (CF, Georgia Tech)

Kristine Priebe # (1B, Georgia Tech)

Jessica Sinclair (RF, Georgia Tech)

Bree Hanafin (INF, Maryland)

Kelli Wheeler (OF, North Carolina)

Stephanie Harris (1B/3B, Virginia)

Dani Anderson (SS, Virginia Tech)

# two-time selection

% three-time selection

Related Articles