December 28, 2007 - by

Amanda DaCosta Named Soccer Buzz Freshman of the Year

Dec. 28, 2007

Tallahassee, Fla. – Just days after being named a second team All-American, Amanda DaCosta added Freshman of the Year accolades to her resume as announced by Soccer Buzz on Friday, December 28. DaCosta joins fellow teammate Sanna Talonen who was named Freshman of the Year by Soccer America earlier this month. The rookie midfielder becomes the first FSU player to claim an individual award by Soccer Buzz in school history.

DaCosta started in all 27 games for the Seminoles in 2007 as she finished third on the team in points with 21 (six goals, nine assists). Her nine assists were one shy of tying the freshman single-season record set by Julia Schnugg in 2003. The Katonah, N.Y., native scored the game-winning goal in the national semifinal against Notre Dame to send Florida State to its first appearance in the national championship game. She finished the season third on the team in game-winning goals with three. DaCosta’s first year in a Seminole uniform was quite impressive as she was named a second team All-ACC honoree and was a member of the Soccer America All-Freshmen, ACC All-Freshmen, ACC All-Tournament and NCAA College Cup Tournament teams. She collected second team All-America and Freshman All-America honors as well as being named the Southeast Region Freshman of the Year by Soccer Buzz.

In an historic vote, DaCosta’s selection as top rookie was nearly captured by her FSU teammate as Talonen garnered the second most votes for freshman of the year honors. It marks the first time in Soccer Buzz history that two teammates have finished 1-2 in voting for either of the national individual awards. DaCosta is the fourth ACC player to garner National Freshman of the Year honors but the first since 2003 and the first from a program other than North Carolina.

Junior Mami Yamaguchi finished second in the balloting for Soccer Buzz National Player of the Year as the award went to UCLA’s Lauren Cheney. Southern California’s Ali Khosroshahin was named Coach of the Year.

Related Articles