December 16, 2004 - by
Amanda Santos Becomes Florida State’s First AVCA All-American Thursday

Dec. 16, 2004

LONG BEACH, Calif. – Florida State senior middle blocker Amanda Santos inked her named in the FSU volleyball record book Thursday as she became the first Seminole to garner American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-American honors after being tabbed an honorable mention selection.

In the history of the FSU volleyball program that includes some of the program’s greats like Gabrielle Reece, Maggie Philgence and Nancy Gaspadarek, 16 different players have earned AVCA All-Region accolades, but no one has been named an All-American until Santos.

“This is a huge day for the Florida State volleyball program,” said Seminole head coach Todd Kress who is at the AVCA Convention in Long Beach, Calif., for the NCAA Championship this weekend. “Amanda definitely deserves the honor because she had an outstanding season. She has set a new bar for future players at Florida State and I think I can speak on behalf of the entire athletic department in saying that we are extremely proud of her.”

Santos is at home in Minas Gerais, Brazil, for the holidays and is unavailable for comment.

Santos concluded the 2004 season ranked second in the ACC in hitting percentage (.365) and fifth in blocks (1.35 bpg). She led the Seminoles, who finished the season with an 18-11 record, in hitting percentage and blocks as well. Despite only spending two season at FSU after transferring from the College of Southern Idaho, Santos leaves the program with 544 kills, 284 total blocks, and a spectacular .325 hitting percentage.

Her 147 total blocks recorded this season are the most since the 1993 season when Vicki Zinkil collected 164.

Santos was a tri-team captain and earned AVCA East All-Region and first-team All-ACC honors earlier this season. She was tabbed MVP of the FSU Invitational and garnered all-tournament honors at the Michigan/Pepsi Challenge and FSU Classic.

The AVCA All-American selections are made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee: chair – Janice Kruger, Maryland; Pi’i Aiu, Colorado; Rich Feller, California; Burt Fuller, Utah State; Judy Green, Alabama; Jill Hirschinger, New Hampshire; Nancy Mueller, Illinois-Chicago; and Mark Rosen, Michigan. The AVCA Awards Chair is Illinois State Head Coach Sharon Dingman.

Related Articles