April 10, 2002 - by
Arrington and Cummings Share MVP Honors At Florida State’s Annual Men’s Basketball Banquet

April 10, 2002

Florida State senior guards Delvon Arrington and Monte Cummings, both of whom earned All-ACC honorable mention All-ACC honors this season, were named co-Most Valuable Players at the teams’ annual banquet. In addition to sharing the MVP award, Arrington earned a team-leading four awards and Cummings two. Arrington set the school-record for assists in a career-with 688 and Cummings led the Seminoles in scoring with a career-high a 15.5 points per game average.

Arrington and Cummings both presented strong cases for winning the MVP Award.

In addition to earning All-ACC honors for the first time in his career, Arrington (Hillside, N.J.) led the team in assists for the fourth consecutive season with a 6.3 assists per game average, topped the team with 42 3-point shots made and ranked second on the team in scoring with an 11.3 points per game average. He also earned the Charlie Ward Defensive Player, the Otto Petty Assist Award, the Iron Man Award and the Captains Award. Arrington ranked first on the team in steals (2.1 spg), assists (6.3 apg) and minutes played (33.6 mpg).

Cummings (Quincy, Fla.) also earned All-ACC honors for the first time in his career. He was presented with the Bob Sura Leading Scorer and the field goal percentage award in addition to earning co-MVP honors. Cummings ranked 11th in the ACC and led the Seminoles with a 15.5 points per game average. He also ranked third in the ACC in field goal shooting percentage with a career-high .528 mark.

Senior co-captain Antwuan Dixon (Marietta, Ga.) earned a pair of awards. He was awarded with a captains award (along with Arrington) and was named the Warrior of the Year for excellence in academics, community service and athletics.

Junior Nigel Dixon (Edgewater, Fla.) won the Dave Cowens Rebounding Award, freshman Adam Waleskowski (Kettering, Ohio) won the award for the highest free throw shooting percentage, junior Marcel Haywood (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) earned the Mr. Walk-On Award and senior David Anderson (Lamar, Colo.) earned the team award for academic excellence.

Hugh Durham Most Valuable Player         Delvon Arrington, Monte Cummings
Charlie Ward Defensive Player Delvon Arrington
Dave Cowens Rebounding Award Nigel Dixon
Bob Sura Leading Scorer Award Monte Cummings
Otto Petty Assist Award Delvon Arrington
Free Throw Percentage/Per Game Award Adam Waleskowski
Field Goal Percentage Monte Cummings
Academic Award David Anderson
Captains Award Delvon Arrington, Antwuan Dixon
Mr. Walk-On Marcell Haywood
Iron Man Award Delvon Arrington
Warrior of the Year Antwuan Dixon
Related Articles